Question for aircraft mechanics

Status
Not open for further replies.
I want to apply to take the tests to become an A&P mechanic.

I have been working on airplanes on a part time basis for more than 20 years while I worked as a commercial pilot.

I have looked at FAR Part 65 and some advisory circulars about what documentation is required to prove that one has practical experience of 30 months or 36 months if one wants to get an A&P certificate.

I can produce some pay stubs for working at an aircraft maintenance facility, but I didn't realize that I should have kept logs of tasks performed under the supervision of an A&P along with N numbers and all that.

Is the FAA very strict about such documents? I have the necessary experience, but I am not sure how to document what I have done in the past and am wondering what an FAA inspector will accept.

I am confident that I will have no trouble studying for and taking the three written tests and the oral/practical tests.

There aren't any schools close to where I live, so I am reluctant to go that route.

Any input/ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!

Originally Posted by Mr Nice
How much do aircraft mechanics make an hour starting?

Depends greatly on location and exactly what type of aircraft mechanic you are.

How much do aircraft mechanics make an hour starting ?

Like, in General Aviation, working on Cessna and Pipers? About $12 an hour

I never considered asking to talk to an ASI at the nearest FSDO. He or she would hopefully give me some good suggestions/ requirements.

Thanks for the input.

Spartan is pretty far away and beyond what I can pay for tuition at this time. Wasn't the Spartan aircraft designed at the Spartan School of Aeronautics? That is a nice looking plane.

Originally Posted by Linctex