Recent Topics
0W30 with MB 229.52 and VW 507 for Canadians
by Snagglefoot - 11/20/19 10:12 PM
Need new Binoculars
by FirstNissan - 11/20/19 09:47 PM
Fram Extra Guard now rated to 10k miles
by addyguy - 11/20/19 08:47 PM
HF Mechanic's Cart Coupon
by TheLawnRanger - 11/20/19 08:45 PM
Factory Fill 2019 VW Jetta 1.4t
by DuckRyder - 11/20/19 08:12 PM
Castrol Edge Professional LL IV FE 0W/20 (VW508)
by DuckRyder - 11/20/19 08:08 PM
2019 Kia Sedona - Oil Filter Housing
by XpressAuto - 11/20/19 07:46 PM
Belt/ Tensioner wear
by bruckus - 11/20/19 07:42 PM
Eneos CVT fluid
by bbhero - 11/20/19 07:38 PM
Game changer?
by P10crew - 11/20/19 07:34 PM
Permatex Brake Lubricant
by Snagglefoot - 11/20/19 07:01 PM
2015 BMW 328i Pennzoil Platinum 5w40 Euro
by TurboJW - 11/20/19 06:55 PM
STP S2808 (Blue) now also a H/K clone
by wemay - 11/20/19 06:30 PM
New to shortwave radio
by cwilliamsws6 - 11/20/19 06:22 PM
Ford Tempo
by Eric Smith - 11/20/19 05:40 PM
quick FL-910s C&P
by BeerCan - 11/20/19 04:50 PM
Adding keyless entry to an older car
by atikovi - 11/20/19 04:36 PM
blind spot monitoring sensor 2017 jetta
by raaizin - 11/20/19 04:33 PM
Subaru Forester rear brakes
by Donald - 11/20/19 04:19 PM
Newest Members
ImBoosted, XpressAuto, Jmpage388, baileyclarke, Jbloggs
69924 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
86 registered members (69Torino, 2004tdigls, 4WD, 2010Civic, 8 invisible), 1,477 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics297,700
Posts5,120,942
Members69,924
Most Online3,589
Nov 2nd, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? #4968013 01/02/19 03:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,468
B
BobsArmory Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,468
So I have been looking at the traffic that goes thru my router (ASUS RT-AC5300) and I keep seeing Akamai.net as something that is using bandwidth. Looking at the history on the computers, no one has visited this site? My Computer seems to use the most bandwidth to Akamai.net but other devices seem to connect as well.

I have run a scan using both Bitdefender Total Protection and Malwarebytes, nothing pops up.

Some days I'll see 5 Megs of data passed up and down with Akamai.net other days I might see a few hundred megs of data.

What gives?


Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix 3800 Series III
Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968021 01/02/19 04:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 588
N
NYSteve Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 588
Akamai is a ad network. Prob video ads through sites you are visiting.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968041 01/02/19 04:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,094
D
danez_yoda Online Content
Online Content
D
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,094
see if you can block it in the router.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968045 01/02/19 04:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 38,243
Q
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Q
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 38,243
Akamai is a content delivery network used by a lot of large companies and their websites. If you watch videos online, some of them are served by Akamai.


2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968049 01/02/19 04:32 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,347
SubieRubyRoo Offline
Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,347
Install and use Adblock Plus and see if that traffic goes down. Privacy Badger is another one. I use them both.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968050 01/02/19 04:33 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 690
N
NoNameJoe Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 690
Akamai is a CDN provider, I know because I work in tech and my company uses it for our hosting as do thousands of others. Anyone who is hosting a website or web app is likely using a CDN.

A CDN in extremely simplified layman terms, stores the parts of websites in multiple areas geographically. A perfect analogy is to think of it like an auto parts retailer having warehouses in multiple states of a country instead of just one state. When a customer makes an order, they ship from the closest warehouse. It's literally a "Content Delivery Network" or a network of servers that Akamai maintains that hold content to deliver to the closest user that requests them.

When you visit a website, just loading the website could result in dozens of requests going out to a CDN to load the images, the Javascript files and ads hosted in iframes too. When you request anything on the web, with or without a browser, it has to go to a web server to handle that request. For its customers Akamai handles serving up the content from the closest CDN for any given request made to a web server for content hosted on the CDN.

If CDNs didn't exist, you'd either do that splitting up of content across multiple areas yourself as a server host, or your server would be serving up resources from one location in the world to users from potentially any location in the world. That's a crappy experience for your users. If my server was only hosted in the UK and most of my visitors are making requests from across the pond.

It's normal and it's a good thing that most traffic goes to a CDN, otherwise things would be much slower.


2015 Civic LX Coupe
Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968052 01/02/19 04:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,369
B
BigD1 Offline
Offline
B
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,369
Check and see if you have Akamai Netsession installed.

https://www.akamai.com/us/en/products/media-delivery/netsession-interface-faq.jsp


1992 Toyota Pickup--AmazonBasics Conventional--10W-30--Toyota 90915YZZD1
Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BigD1] #4968126 01/02/19 06:20 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,468
B
BobsArmory Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,468
Not installed. And thanks NoNameJoe. Makes sense.

Originally Posted by BigD1
Check and see if you have Akamai Netsession installed.

https://www.akamai.com/us/en/products/media-delivery/netsession-interface-faq.jsp


Keeping the forces of evil at bay
2016 Chevy Malibu LT 1.5 Liter Turbo
2017 Chevy Equinox LT 2.4 Liter
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix 3800 Series III
Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: NYSteve] #4968278 01/02/19 08:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,201
R
rubberchicken Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,201
Originally Posted by NYSteve
Akamai is a ad network. Prob video ads through sites you are visiting.


Akamai is not an ad network- Akamai is a CDN- content delivery network. CDN's essentially cache data at local data centers so that your website does not have to send the entire webpage. It makes surfing the net much faster.
Run your normal AV or adware tools just to be sure, but Akamai is typically safe and legit.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4968288 01/02/19 09:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,020
S
spackard Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,020
If you get Microsoft patches, they are hosted on akamai.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: SubieRubyRoo] #4969116 01/03/19 07:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 227
B
bobdoo Offline
Offline
B
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 227
adblock partners with *some* advertisers. uBlock Origin is the current favorite.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4969327 01/04/19 12:09 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,201
R
rubberchicken Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,201
NoNameJoe gave a very good explanation on Akamai. However they are a large company and offer a lot of other services besides pure CDN, but they are best known for CDN.

Re: Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers? [Re: BobsArmory] #4970242 01/05/19 03:20 AM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 846
S
Subdued Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 846
Akamai also owns Prolexic, which is a DDoS mitigation service.


2015 Jeep Cherokee 18k
2008 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 149k
2007 Toyota Yaris S 170k

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™