2008 Honda 2.4L Engine Cold-Start Rattling

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have no firsthand experience, but, was curious and looked up the Honda K24A (K24Z, K24W) engine on "mywikimotors.com" ...

> Engine noise during startup. This happens due to the use of improper engine oil or untimely replacement of engine oil,
> which deteriorates the VTC gear. The noise comes from the right side of the engine? Then you have to replace the VTC gear.
> Sometimes, the timing chain starts rattling, the reason is the same, it is non-serious attitude to the choice of or frequency of
> replacement of motor oil.

I started using a HDEO (higher zddp)(Rotella T5 10w30) in a 2001 Honda Accord with the J30A1 engine, and it got me wondering
if the problem was wear related over time due to the reduced levels of ZDDP in current engine oils.

Thanks for the intel tomkelso2003!
I can give complete history of the oil I used. Started with OEM factory fill up to 1,000 miles. Replaced with Valvoline conventional oil 5w-20 until 2,500 miles. Then Valvoline DuraBlend Semi-Syn oil until 5,000 miles. Switched to Mobil 1 FS to 10k. Used Mobil 1 per Oil life monitor (usually got to about 9k-10k OCI) until about 100,000 miles. I think I used Mobil 1 ExtPerf for one of those OCI's. Decided to switch to Amsoil SS 5w-20 from 100,000 until 190,000 miles. Last 8,000 miles has been Pennzoil Platinum High Mileage 5w-30 in an effort to slow down oil burn. May go to Valvoline FS 5w-40 Euro Formula on upcoming OCI at 200,000 to see if that reduces oil burn. No leaks or evidence of gasket failures anywhere. Just the oil burn.
Also got into a habit of changing oil filter every 5k and topped off with 1 qt for the remaining 5k of the OCI. Thought it was cheap insurance for my 10k OCI. I believe I had 2 Blackstone Labs UOA's done way back in the day but I can't find them. Would have loved to posted them along with this thread! My memory recalls that they came back looking really good.

Last edited: