Why do I have Akamai.net traffic on my computers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I have been looking at the traffic that goes thru my router (ASUS RT-AC5300) and I keep seeing Akamai.net as something that is using bandwidth. Looking at the history on the computers, no one has visited this site? My Computer seems to use the most bandwidth to Akamai.net but other devices seem to connect as well.

I have run a scan using both Bitdefender Total Protection and Malwarebytes, nothing pops up.

Some days I'll see 5 Megs of data passed up and down with Akamai.net other days I might see a few hundred megs of data.

What gives?

Akamai is a content delivery network used by a lot of large companies and their websites. If you watch videos online, some of them are served by Akamai.

Akamai is a CDN provider, I know because I work in tech and my company uses it for our hosting as do thousands of others. Anyone who is hosting a website or web app is likely using a CDN.

A CDN in extremely simplified layman terms, stores the parts of websites in multiple areas geographically. A perfect analogy is to think of it like an auto parts retailer having warehouses in multiple states of a country instead of just one state. When a customer makes an order, they ship from the closest warehouse. It's literally a "Content Delivery Network" or a network of servers that Akamai maintains that hold content to deliver to the closest user that requests them.

When you visit a website, just loading the website could result in dozens of requests going out to a CDN to load the images, the Javascript files and ads hosted in iframes too. When you request anything on the web, with or without a browser, it has to go to a web server to handle that request. For its customers Akamai handles serving up the content from the closest CDN for any given request made to a web server for content hosted on the CDN.