86 Mercury 50hp 2 stroke will not run!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, I apologize if this really isn't the place for this but I'm reaching out in desperation here... I'm a very savy, certified mechanic and usually find my way around just about anything that runs but I have a good friend of mine's Mercury boat engine at the shop and it is causing me to lose what little hair I have left!!

Its an older unit but not many hours on it. 3 cylinder 2 stroke. All 3 spark plugs replaced, carbs pulled apart and gone through, float heights set, all jets are clean and clear etc. I have verified spark with a spark tester on all 3 holes and also checked compression-

110-100-110 respectively.

This thing will not attempt to start! Every now and then I'll get a pop in the exhaust but thats rare. I have even went as far as to give it a burp of ether straight into the carb and nothing! I've pulled the flywheel and reinstalled, checked TDC etc.

I'll admit, I'm not a boat mechanic, never seen one before now but its an engine, and a 2 stroke at that. They have always been the most simplistic things ever to work on and figure out!

If you have compression, fuel and spark at the right time it will run.

Is the gas fresh and not full of water. Is the crankcase not flooded with oil oil or lots of gas.

A spoonfull of oil in each cylinder will help the compression.

Broken reeds prevent getting fuel. Are the plugs wet with fuel. Does it suck air in the carbs, and not spit back.

Spark timing, could the coil wiring be messed up. A timing light will tell.

Rod

My guess is that its an ignition problem. Have you tried to look at the spark for each cylinder?

The Mercury 2 cycle engines were one of the first engines to get electronic ignition. My 1987 Merc (4 cycle) I/O has electronic ignition and so I will guess the two cycle has it.