Beneficial clean fuel.injectors in Ultrasonic Cleaner

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm buying a ultrasonic cleaner. I've been using a friend's on mower and blower carbs and it's been terrific.

I am an old time mechanic, the carburetor era. Though my cars have fuel injection, I know little about them. I don't even know where the injectors are! Squirting in to the top of the cylinders I'm sure. Do they unscrew like spark plugs? Would it be beneficial to remove them, soak them, then turn on the ultrasonic cleaner? Better, qucker performance? Better gas mileage? Better than using a cleaner in the gas tank? Too much trouble for the return?

You have to de-pressurize the fuel system before removing the injectors. You can do this by pulling the fuel pump fuse then trying to start the car (it will crank but won't actually start). Then, unplug the electrical connector, and then usually a couple more screws or bolts to take off.

They are very useful, a can of aerosol injector cleaner and a 12v battery might be more effective and less dangerous for fuel injectors. I'm also not sure I would want to put any electronics in there, even with a solvent instead of water.

I've cleaned injectors using an ultrasonic cleaner. I set it up so I could energize the injector while reverse flushing it. It's very satisfying watching a cloud of crud come out of the injector.

Let a pro do it.

Send them here: http://www.hurstinjectorservice.com

They get cleaned, new o-rings & stainless steel filters, pattern checked, flow and resistance checked.

You can dunk them in your tank and maybe clean them, but in replacing the filters you might break something. You can't flow test, check pattern, or measure out resistance. And you won't know if they're completely clean because you can't measure the flow or check the spray pattern.

But the pro can.

Last edited: