OPE stored Outdoors - Before or After Season

Status
Not open for further replies.
Needed some floorspace so OPE that sits on the floor had been moved outside under the deck , covered...

All doused with a heavy film of Fluid film unneath the deck, auger, etc.
Anyhow, what camp of OCI do you say. After season, before storage or before seasonal use. Weather sees the dew set in the morning, etc, etc.

Originally Posted by bullwinkle
If it's covered outside, I would vote for run it out of Stabil-dosed gas & fog it before, change the oil after.

+1.

I've been cutting a friends lawn weekly for the past 5 yrs, as he & his wife(both cancer survivors) have had intestines removed and each have limited mobility. I use his own push lawn mower and at the end of season, I fill the gas tank full with fresh gas w/Sta-Bil and cover the mower with a recycle bin & 2 bungee cords and leave it outside.

This mower is >20 yrs old and starts, hmmm, OK but, runs fine when warmed up. It's been running like this even before I took over cutting the lawn.

Last edited:
In days of yore, I used galvy wash tubs. They were heavy enough not to need bungies .Maybe wrap a garbage bag around the handle.
grin2.gif

Originally Posted by Triple_Se7en
Again, the abbreviations here drive me nuts.
What is OPE and why can't it be spelled-out here?

Speaking of which, that contraction in your signature has been just killing me!
13.gif

I have no problem with initialisms, though! Makes like way easier. Besides, it's suuuuper easy to Google the initialism, acronym or any jargon and, using the context with which it was used, find out what it means. Some only need context and can be figured out without a search.

Note: OPE is not a BITOGism. I've seen and heard others use it. I've heard and use it myself in everyday speach. It's pretty common...

Last edited:
Originally Posted by spasm3
OPE is not a new abbreviation here, I could understand a new member not knowing.