Wow, winter prep actually helps!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a complete detailing noob and this was my first time doing a "winter prep" on my cars. It wasn't anything crazy - just washing, waxing and applying headlight sealant on all the outside lights to minimize road grime collection. We had a few snowfalls and I've got to say, the prep actually helped!

Very little road salt/grime stuck to the cars, especially on the bottom parts of the doors where it loves to cake on. I also waxed the side and rear windows, and this seemed to help the snow clean off easier in the morning with my snow brush. The headlights are still clear, whereas before, I'd have to wipe them down a few times in the days following a storm. The rain cleaned off the little grime that was on the cars and they look great again! It's also cool seeing rainwater bead up and off the paint.

Definitely a fan of winter detailing
smile.gif

Last edited:
It definitely helps with cleaning and with the long term condition of a car. It's a habit I started way back when.

I had some leftover sealant from a Rainx restoration kit I bought a few years back.

It's similar to Blue Magic sealant.

Originally Posted by joekingcorvette
I always do the stainless steel exhaust tips too if applicable and wax the taillights.

and here I thought I was the only one that waxes the taillights! I don't feel so odd anymore!

Well done! Given the amount of road salt and liquid deicers used in many parts of the nation, a good coat of wax definitely helps protect your clear coat plus the benefits you mentioned!

Originally Posted by mclasser
I also waxed the side and rear windows, and this seemed to help the snow clean off easier in the morning with my snow brush.