Generator on Natural Gas

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello folks, a noob here to the BITOG forums, though have been lurking for quite a few years. I have an old Winco Tri-Fuel TF6000E, a hand-me-down, my brother got a new generator. It runs fine and I intend to run it primarily on gasoline, but I want to set it up with the capability to run natural gas from the house in case I have to. Question is... Since NG is a "dry" fuel, and this causes increased valve wear according to what I read, is this a reason to find a special NG oil? Or, as little as it would be used, just nothing to worry about? Right now, it's running Synthetic 5W-30 year round. The dedicated NG oils I have found online also tend to be higher viscosities than regular engine oils.

More in line with needing hardened valve seats and maybe different valve guides. For emergency use on NG with gasoline being the primary fuel I wouldn't worry too much about it. Being that it was built to run on either it should have the internals needed for it. I'd look at what they recommend for oil and go from there.

Originally Posted by KevinGC
Hello folks, a noob here to the BITOG forums, though have been lurking for quite a few years. I have an old Winco Tri-Fuel TF6000E, a hand-me-down, my brother got a new generator. It runs fine and I intend to run it primarily on gasoline, but I want to set it up with the capability to run natural gas from the house in case I have to. Question is... Since NG is a "dry" fuel, and this causes increased valve wear according to what I read, is this a reason to find a special NG oil? Or, as little as it would be used, just nothing to worry about? Right now, it's running Synthetic 5W-30 year round. The dedicated NG oils I have found online also tend to be higher viscosities than regular engine oils.