New vid from Project Farm - MotorKote. I'm sold.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by Shannow
The Timken test (and the 4 ball) are valid tests...for what they are testing, and have error bands of the range of 20%...

But they have ZERO relevance for anything to do with engine oil, in your engine...could you please tell me which part of your engine looks like the Timken test apparatus ?

They, and the people pushing them ARE fraudulent in their claims that the test relates to engine protection...and the gullible are duped every time (even as a young engineer, I was duped...learned more about it, understood what was going on and how it's meangless to my engine, then started to see how charlatans could use it to appear convincing).

Struggling to see what Tesla has to do in the context here...you have polyphase AC...Tesla's work is everywhere.

its not about replicating the conditions inside your engine and all of its different contact points and pressures
its a simplified test for lubricity
one of the goals of having that lubricant in your engine

and the Tesla example was about how talented inventors arent the best businessmen.. if you actually read what I wrote

A simplified test that does not replicate anything in your engine only tells you how things do...in that simplified test...not how your engine wears...surely you can see the difference.

Timken is a reputable manufacturer, but if their test has nothing to do with any behaviour in engines, it means nothing.

Why does the entire industry use the sequence IVA wear test for wear when a one armed bandit could do it for cents in the dollar ?

I'd love to see an IVR with Motorkote + whatever oils vs some brand
but how exactly are you to carry around and engine and disassemble and measure for every oil sample mixture
as a demo for people?
not to mention having to replace the cam for each sample

just as you dont use an IVR for determining viscosity of said lubricant