Recent Topics
2019 GM 6.2 AFM
by XL1200RFan. 12/12/18 07:32 AM
Dodge Challenger R/T Tips and Tricks?
by LoneRanger. 12/12/18 06:02 AM
MIL vehicle suggestion $8000
by madRiver. 12/12/18 06:00 AM
Toyota 2TR-FE 2.7 questions
by Doublehaul. 12/12/18 12:32 AM
Anybody used Eurolub?
by FordCapriDriver. 12/12/18 12:18 AM
Micro-Green Cut Open
by David1. 12/11/18 11:45 PM
Witch way does this valve work?
by Dylan1303. 12/11/18 11:42 PM
Santa came early..
by leoblack9. 12/11/18 11:22 PM
dropped a zip tie in my prius trans
by eljefino. 12/11/18 09:54 PM
2 Cello's - Some talented fellows right here.
by StevieC. 12/11/18 09:49 PM
Something different for sure - Punjabi Celtic
by StevieC. 12/11/18 09:40 PM
Honda eu200i hiccuping @ low idle - fixed
by Jmoney7269. 12/11/18 09:34 PM
Your dealer is here - Humor
by StevieC. 12/11/18 08:46 PM
1994 Honda Civic LX Main Relay-solder
by Gito. 12/11/18 08:43 PM
Winter/Summer Fuel Economy
by RayCJ. 12/11/18 08:33 PM
0w20 oils - NOACK
by superangrypenguin. 12/11/18 08:19 PM
Liqui Moly Special Tec AA 5w20 API SN
by Johnny248. 12/11/18 08:15 PM
Buy a brand new 1966-1977 Ford Bronco
by StevieC. 12/11/18 07:50 PM
Newest Members
ariefnrst, tcoffin014, Schm1d, EagleC, Dinka
66655 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
90 registered members (54steve, beanoil, 53' Stude, aba4430, 2004tdigls, Astro14, 11 invisible), 1,548 guests, and 35 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics294,967
Posts4,925,051
Members66,655
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Wired Routers [Re: Vikas] #4886843
10/03/18 07:48 PM
10/03/18 07:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,228
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 21,228
ON, Canada eh?

Originally Posted by Vikas
Delhi is a HUGE city; you are the first person to call Delhi as "rural"


(Ya, I know about the snow storms in Miami too :-)



Delhi, Ontario is a farming town and it's not huge at all. Maybe in area but it's not like a city like Toronto. grin2


'18 Dodge Grand Caravan GT - AMSOIL SS 5w20
'06 Santa Fe - 535,000km AMSOIL SS 0w30 / ATF
Re: Wired Routers [Re: Vikas] #4886849
10/03/18 08:01 PM
10/03/18 08:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,606
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,606
Great Lakes
Originally Posted by Vikas
Delhi is a HUGE city; you are the first person to call Delhi as "rural"

Not that Delhi. smile

Delhi, Ontario


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4887071
10/04/18 08:43 AM
10/04/18 08:43 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,378
NorthEast
Vikas Offline
Vikas  Offline
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,378
NorthEast
I wonder how many kids join Miami University before realizing that it is NOT in *that* Miami!

Re: Wired Routers [Re: Subdued] #4893692
10/11/18 07:46 AM
10/11/18 07:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 193
Fort Erie, ON
fraso Offline OP
fraso  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 193
Fort Erie, ON
Originally Posted by Subdued
Since the cheapies are only 100mb they only use 4 conductors. It's not an issue that they only have 4 pins. Number of pins has nothing to do with duplex or no duplex.

You run into duplex issues when one end is configured for auto/auto and the other end is set to 100/full. the auto side doesn't get the negotiation information it needs from the hard coded end, so it falls back to half duplex.

both ends need to be auto/auto or 100/full. Don't mix speed/dulex.


My TL-WR841N is spec'd for 10/100Mbps Ethernet ports. The router does in fact have 4-pin ports. My old EBR-2310 is also spec'd for 10/100Mbps (IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet & IEEE 802.3 NWay Auto-Negotiation) but has 8-pin ports. My two 10/100 switches also have 8-pin ports.

I thought that that full-duplex requires 8-pins and 4-pin only permits half-duplex communication.

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4893921
10/11/18 11:58 AM
10/11/18 11:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,916
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,916
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by fraso
Originally Posted by Subdued
Since the cheapies are only 100mb they only use 4 conductors. It's not an issue that they only have 4 pins. Number of pins has nothing to do with duplex or no duplex.

You run into duplex issues when one end is configured for auto/auto and the other end is set to 100/full. the auto side doesn't get the negotiation information it needs from the hard coded end, so it falls back to half duplex.

both ends need to be auto/auto or 100/full. Don't mix speed/dulex.


My TL-WR841N is spec'd for 10/100Mbps Ethernet ports. The router does in fact have 4-pin ports. My old EBR-2310 is also spec'd for 10/100Mbps (IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet & IEEE 802.3 NWay Auto-Negotiation) but has 8-pin ports. My two 10/100 switches also have 8-pin ports.

I thought that that full-duplex requires 8-pins and 4-pin only permits half-duplex communication.


No, you need all of them for Gig-E, 100 will work fine at full duplex.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4893985
10/11/18 12:58 PM
10/11/18 12:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,378
NorthEast
Vikas Offline
Vikas  Offline
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,378
NorthEast
I had never come across 4-pin ethernet cable. the only 4-pin cable was the 2-line telephone one. half of the responders here never even seen a telephone cable :-)

Couple of weekend ago I was at friends house and a 2 year toddler of guest was asking his dad what was the thingy with corded cable hanging from the wall!

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4893996
10/11/18 01:09 PM
10/11/18 01:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,560
Silicon Valley
PandaBear Offline
PandaBear  Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 14,560
Silicon Valley
So the Ethernet connection between the 2 routers goes through a wiring panel? Did you make sure the wiring are connected to the right "pair" as they were?

The reason I ask is, about 18 years ago, I bought a cable from ebay and the seller crimp the wiring pair wrong, so instead of the 1-2, 3-6, 4-5, 7-8 pairs end up being 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, and one pair is not twisted as expected. My network would go 10Mbps but not 100Mbps. I research online and found that, and then re-crimp it myself and the problem went away.

If you can borrow an ethernet switch to test, you can use that to rule out the router or the cable. Narrow it down to which component and go from there.


"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4894533
10/12/18 08:20 AM
10/12/18 08:20 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 193
Fort Erie, ON
fraso Offline OP
fraso  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 193
Fort Erie, ON
My Ethernet distribution panel is a a ChannelPlus H236 enclosure with ChannelPlus H628 data termination hubs. This panel is in my basement and I've run Cat 5 cable to Leviton RJ45 wall jacks in conduit throughout my house. The hubs and wall jacks are color-coded so it's hard to connect them incorrectly. Having checked my connections in Windows previously, I've regularly connected to the network at 100 Mbps.

I only have one router in operation. I have Cat5 (has foil, might be 5e) cable from the tower switch to my router and that same cable from the router to one of my switches. The cable from the router to the switch is terminated with a modular plug at both ends. When running the Cat5 cable, I used a punchdown tool to connect all 8 wires in the hubs and wall jacks.

What I would like to know is clarification about Subdued's comment about cheap routers having 4 pins rather than 8. My old D-Link EBR-2310 and DIR-601 both have 8-pin Ethernet ports but my new TP-Link TL-WR841N only has 4-pin ports.

Do good 10/100 routers have 8-pin ports?
What implications does having a 4-pin Ethernet port have compared with an 8-pin port?
Would my old D-Link 10/100 routers have had better Ethernet performance than my new TL-WR841N?

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4900613
10/19/18 06:56 PM
10/19/18 06:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 193
Fort Erie, ON
fraso Offline OP
fraso  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 193
Fort Erie, ON
From what I've able to find so far, the number of pins in the port doesn't matter for a 10/100 router or switch because the connection only uses 4 wires.

Since one of my old switches has a bad port, I thought I would upgrade to a 16 port gigabit switch (TP-Link TL-SG1016D). I've ordered a wired gigabit router (TP-Link TL-R600VPN) to match the gigabit switch. I'm happy with my TP-Link TL-WR841N router and I'm going to repurpose it as a WAP in a better location than where it's mounted now as a router.

Thanks for the great advice. After getting my connection speed sorted out, I did a write-up about my experience in case others were in a similar situation: Home Networks

Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™