Recent Topics
Liqui moly viscoplus
by Toh1 - 12/07/19 10:14 PM
Bought me a lemon 15 focus
by gabriel9766 - 12/07/19 10:12 PM
New axle fixed steering pull?
by Chris142 - 12/07/19 09:52 PM
E-core super tech vs Fram orange can 10k
by Doublehaul - 12/07/19 09:01 PM
Interesting trend at my local walmarts
by N Heat - 12/07/19 08:39 PM
Stp S2 oil filter come with silicone ADBV for $4.99
by MetalSlug - 12/07/19 07:50 PM
RATS
by MrQuackers - 12/07/19 07:46 PM
First Day of Summer in New Zealand.
by Silk - 12/07/19 07:02 PM
Gumout Regane Complete 6pk for $22.79
by volk06 - 12/07/19 06:15 PM
Basement sewer smell/Plumbers info req'd.
by irv - 12/07/19 06:03 PM
Project Farm tests car batteries
by cwilliamsws6 - 12/07/19 05:59 PM
Is this normal?
by TurboLuver - 12/07/19 05:12 PM
Any Scooter Riders?
by Passport1 - 12/07/19 03:20 PM
High Performance Lubricants
by wwillson - 12/07/19 02:27 PM
Am I Evil?
by A_Harman - 12/07/19 01:58 PM
Student laptop needed.
by irv - 12/07/19 01:13 PM
4 unifi AP
by BeerCan - 12/07/19 12:25 PM
Another OCD battery ?
by Gebo - 12/07/19 11:45 AM
High school football championships
by 53' Stude - 12/07/19 10:57 AM
Newest Members
smlobx, bithebay87, Keelin, professor229, MxTale
70063 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
60 registered members (Ag76, ArrestMeRedZ, AC1DD, austinlunsford, Alfred_B, 5 invisible), 1,301 guests, and 53 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics298,425
Posts5,135,205
Members70,063
Most Online3,589
Nov 2nd, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Wired Routers [Re: Vikas] #4886843 10/03/18 07:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,017
StevieC Offline
Offline
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,017

Originally Posted by Vikas
Delhi is a HUGE city; you are the first person to call Delhi as "rural"


(Ya, I know about the snow storms in Miami too :-)



Delhi, Ontario is a farming town and it's not huge at all. Maybe in area but it's not like a city like Toronto. grin2


'18 Caravan - 45k KM - AMSOIL SS 0w20, Fram Ultra, TC-W3 500:1
'06 Santa Fe - 535k KM (Retired)

There is no such thing as "lifetime" fluids! mad
Re: Wired Routers [Re: Vikas] #4886849 10/03/18 08:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 38,286
Q
Quattro Pete Offline
Offline
Q
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 38,286
Originally Posted by Vikas
Delhi is a HUGE city; you are the first person to call Delhi as "rural"

Not that Delhi. smile

Delhi, Ontario


2002 530i   2015 Q5 3.0T   2018 Charger SRT
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4887071 10/04/18 08:43 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,593
V
Vikas Offline
Offline
V
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,593
I wonder how many kids join Miami University before realizing that it is NOT in *that* Miami!

Re: Wired Routers [Re: Subdued] #4893692 10/11/18 07:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 205
F
fraso Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by Subdued
Since the cheapies are only 100mb they only use 4 conductors. It's not an issue that they only have 4 pins. Number of pins has nothing to do with duplex or no duplex.

You run into duplex issues when one end is configured for auto/auto and the other end is set to 100/full. the auto side doesn't get the negotiation information it needs from the hard coded end, so it falls back to half duplex.

both ends need to be auto/auto or 100/full. Don't mix speed/dulex.


My TL-WR841N is spec'd for 10/100Mbps Ethernet ports. The router does in fact have 4-pin ports. My old EBR-2310 is also spec'd for 10/100Mbps (IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet & IEEE 802.3 NWay Auto-Negotiation) but has 8-pin ports. My two 10/100 switches also have 8-pin ports.

I thought that that full-duplex requires 8-pins and 4-pin only permits half-duplex communication.

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4893921 10/11/18 11:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 40,706
O
OVERKILL Offline
Offline
O
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 40,706
Originally Posted by fraso
Originally Posted by Subdued
Since the cheapies are only 100mb they only use 4 conductors. It's not an issue that they only have 4 pins. Number of pins has nothing to do with duplex or no duplex.

You run into duplex issues when one end is configured for auto/auto and the other end is set to 100/full. the auto side doesn't get the negotiation information it needs from the hard coded end, so it falls back to half duplex.

both ends need to be auto/auto or 100/full. Don't mix speed/dulex.


My TL-WR841N is spec'd for 10/100Mbps Ethernet ports. The router does in fact have 4-pin ports. My old EBR-2310 is also spec'd for 10/100Mbps (IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX Fast Ethernet & IEEE 802.3 NWay Auto-Negotiation) but has 8-pin ports. My two 10/100 switches also have 8-pin ports.

I thought that that full-duplex requires 8-pins and 4-pin only permits half-duplex communication.


No, you need all of them for Gig-E, 100 will work fine at full duplex.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2020 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4893985 10/11/18 12:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,593
V
Vikas Offline
Offline
V
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 11,593
I had never come across 4-pin ethernet cable. the only 4-pin cable was the 2-line telephone one. half of the responders here never even seen a telephone cable :-)

Couple of weekend ago I was at friends house and a 2 year toddler of guest was asking his dad what was the thingy with corded cable hanging from the wall!

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4893996 10/11/18 01:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 15,465
P
PandaBear Offline
Offline
P
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 15,465
So the Ethernet connection between the 2 routers goes through a wiring panel? Did you make sure the wiring are connected to the right "pair" as they were?

The reason I ask is, about 18 years ago, I bought a cable from ebay and the seller crimp the wiring pair wrong, so instead of the 1-2, 3-6, 4-5, 7-8 pairs end up being 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, and one pair is not twisted as expected. My network would go 10Mbps but not 100Mbps. I research online and found that, and then re-crimp it myself and the problem went away.

If you can borrow an ethernet switch to test, you can use that to rule out the router or the cable. Narrow it down to which component and go from there.


"You keep asking questions PandaBear and you'll end up a vegetarian like my wife" - Camu Mahubah
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4894533 10/12/18 08:20 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 205
F
fraso Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 205
My Ethernet distribution panel is a a ChannelPlus H236 enclosure with ChannelPlus H628 data termination hubs. This panel is in my basement and I've run Cat 5 cable to Leviton RJ45 wall jacks in conduit throughout my house. The hubs and wall jacks are color-coded so it's hard to connect them incorrectly. Having checked my connections in Windows previously, I've regularly connected to the network at 100 Mbps.

I only have one router in operation. I have Cat5 (has foil, might be 5e) cable from the tower switch to my router and that same cable from the router to one of my switches. The cable from the router to the switch is terminated with a modular plug at both ends. When running the Cat5 cable, I used a punchdown tool to connect all 8 wires in the hubs and wall jacks.

What I would like to know is clarification about Subdued's comment about cheap routers having 4 pins rather than 8. My old D-Link EBR-2310 and DIR-601 both have 8-pin Ethernet ports but my new TP-Link TL-WR841N only has 4-pin ports.

Do good 10/100 routers have 8-pin ports?
What implications does having a 4-pin Ethernet port have compared with an 8-pin port?
Would my old D-Link 10/100 routers have had better Ethernet performance than my new TL-WR841N?

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4900613 10/19/18 06:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 205
F
fraso Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 205
From what I've able to find so far, the number of pins in the port doesn't matter for a 10/100 router or switch because the connection only uses 4 wires.

Since one of my old switches has a bad port, I thought I would upgrade to a 16 port gigabit switch (TP-Link TL-SG1016D). I've ordered a wired gigabit router (TP-Link TL-R600VPN) to match the gigabit switch. I'm happy with my TP-Link TL-WR841N router and I'm going to repurpose it as a WAP in a better location than where it's mounted now as a router.

Thanks for the great advice. After getting my connection speed sorted out, I did a write-up about my experience in case others were in a similar situation: Home Networks

Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™