Recent Topics
Determining if car battery has much life left
by paulri. 07/16/19 02:47 PM
kohker oil recomendation
by 1978elcamino. 07/16/19 02:44 PM
Rear Diff Seal Leak?
by Pike51. 07/16/19 02:31 PM
Using synthetic to clean a crankcase
by NavyVet88. 07/16/19 02:26 PM
Next Project: 1968 Cub Cadet Model 72
by Phishin. 07/16/19 02:14 PM
Mother's CMX
by rooflessVW. 07/16/19 01:54 PM
Continental True Contact Tour
by Char Baby. 07/16/19 01:39 PM
Chevron Delo ESI grease?
by nthach. 07/16/19 01:24 PM
Keeping downspouts clean
by Klutch9. 07/16/19 01:00 PM
Cellphone plans
by aquariuscsm. 07/16/19 12:59 PM
Concealed Carry and Training
by Al. 07/16/19 12:47 PM
Ugliest/Best Chrysler LeBaron
by GumbyJarvis. 07/16/19 12:34 PM
Its TIme to Stock up on Pennzoil Ultra
by ad244. 07/16/19 12:32 PM
2003 Jetta VR6 2.8L, 6 speed tarns
by LazyDog. 07/16/19 12:26 PM
Interesting read
by double vanos. 07/16/19 10:34 AM
Shell Rotella T Rebate Program
by Ignatius. 07/16/19 10:20 AM
Apollo 11
by Snagglefoot. 07/16/19 09:55 AM
Brake Pad Unboxing and Review
by krismoriah72. 07/16/19 09:40 AM
Limited Slip Additive
by Snagglefoot. 07/16/19 09:39 AM
Newest Members
jasonhardesty, gogi, Bob47, Lucas_Jones, cobb_cruiser
68673 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
104 registered members (1978elcamino, alchargo, 53' Stude, 4WD, 15 invisible), 2,458 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics291,952
Posts5,013,964
Members68,673
Most Online2,967
Mar 10th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Wired Routers #4884531
10/01/18 12:48 PM
10/01/18 12:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 204
Fort Erie, ON
fraso Offline OP
fraso  Offline OP

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 204
Fort Erie, ON
Earlier this year, I was having trouble with mobile devices connecting to my home WiFi and often my desktop computer (connected via Ethernet) would seem to not connect to the internet. Being in a rural area, I've got wireless (radio tower) internet and the router connects to a switch inside the house. I have a D-Link DAP-1650 as the wireless access point, which is connected via Ethernet to my switch . My ISP checked my connection and it found no issues and none of the other customers using this tower were reporting any issues either. They told me that the only way to test the router is to bypass the router and connect directly into the modem to see if there is any difference. My ISP does not like D-Link and recommended any router made by Asus or TP-Link.

Since I was using an old D-Link EBR-2310 router located in a detached garage beside the tower, it was a bit inconvenient for me to try bypassing the router. I found that Amazon had a cheap wireless router for $20 (TP-Link N300 that appeared to have really good reviews so I thought I would try it instead. The TP-Link N300 was a big improvement in WiFi connectivity but my download speeds are verrry slow. This morning, I've been trying to download a large file and the download speed is around 20-40 KB/s and the process has already failed several times. I used to get 5-10 Mbps when the EBR-2310 was working better. Sometimes, rebooting the N300 improves its performance.

I thought I would go back to a wired router because I my DAP-1650 works fine in the house and I can use the N300 as an outside WAP. Having checked around, it looks like there are very few wired (ie, no WiFi) routers for the consumer market.

Any advice about getting a good router for home use?

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884560
10/01/18 01:17 PM
10/01/18 01:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,014
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,014
ON, Canada eh?
I should come down to visit you from the Hammer and help you. grin2

Those $20 routers IMO would be an issue, they aren't full duplex on the wired ports. If you look they will be missing pins where the ethernet cables go and this would restrict bandwidth. Further they really are for light cable / dsl packages and minimal traffic.

You want something more memory and a faster processor. All TP-Link routers offer much better range I have found over D-Link etc. I think you just picked the wrong one. Get something from their Archer Series. Like this one...
https://www.amazon.ca/TP-Link-AC1900-Smart-Wireless-Router/dp/B00PDLRHFW/

Also it could depend on what channel you were broadcasting on and if there was interference on whatever channel it was using. Sometimes the auto-channel feature in routers isn't the best and it's better to perform a wireless site survey and pick the best channel that isn't in use and there is no noise on. Forcing it to use a channel you decide versus the auto-scanned channel can make a tremendous difference.

The last is always make sure the firmware is up to date on the router when you first take it out of the box. It's possible this was creating the problem and there is a fix but it hasn't been applied because the router spent a lot of time on the shelf sort of thing before you purchased it and it has outdated firmware with bugs.


Last edited by StevieC; 10/01/18 01:26 PM.

'18 Caravan - 36k KM - AMSOIL SS 0w20, Fram Ultra, TC-W3 500:1
'06 Santa Fe - 535k KM (Retired)

There is no such thing as "lifetime" fluids! mad
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884590
10/01/18 02:01 PM
10/01/18 02:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
tmorris1 Offline
tmorris1  Offline

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
What is your internet speed supposed to be?

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884606
10/01/18 02:22 PM
10/01/18 02:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 204
Fort Erie, ON
fraso Offline OP
fraso  Offline OP

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 204
Fort Erie, ON
The problem I'm having is with the wired connection speeds. With the EBR-2310, I was getting over 5 Mbps when it was working well. I haven't checked the WiFi speed but it seems quick enough.

I just checked the firmware version and it looks like my router has the latest firmware installed. I don't think it was on the shelf very long because it appeared to be a popular item that already had several thousand reviews when I got it and has over 17,000 reviews right now.

Last edited by fraso; 10/01/18 02:23 PM.
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884608
10/01/18 02:25 PM
10/01/18 02:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
tmorris1 Offline
tmorris1  Offline

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
I would check your cables and the switch. You could bypass the switch. They haven't made any routers that have half duplex ports for years. Any cheap router will be able to pass the speeds that your internet is, so has to be something other than the router.

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884612
10/01/18 02:26 PM
10/01/18 02:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
tmorris1 Offline
tmorris1  Offline

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
I assume your wireless AP has DHCP server turned off?

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884615
10/01/18 02:31 PM
10/01/18 02:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,014
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,014
ON, Canada eh?
Go to speedtest.net and run a speed test using multiple servers in your area and see what the best download/upload is.


'18 Caravan - 36k KM - AMSOIL SS 0w20, Fram Ultra, TC-W3 500:1
'06 Santa Fe - 535k KM (Retired)

There is no such thing as "lifetime" fluids! mad
Re: Wired Routers [Re: StevieC] #4884619
10/01/18 02:35 PM
10/01/18 02:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
tmorris1 Offline
tmorris1  Offline

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
That isn't going to troubleshoot his wired connections?

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884632
10/01/18 02:45 PM
10/01/18 02:45 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,014
ON, Canada eh?
StevieC Offline
StevieC  Offline

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 25,014
ON, Canada eh?
He started by saying he had problems downloading a large file so it will troubleshoot that. If his wired connections are the problem they will also show up in this test because he depends on that connection for the downloading.


'18 Caravan - 36k KM - AMSOIL SS 0w20, Fram Ultra, TC-W3 500:1
'06 Santa Fe - 535k KM (Retired)

There is no such thing as "lifetime" fluids! mad
Re: Wired Routers [Re: StevieC] #4884636
10/01/18 02:49 PM
10/01/18 02:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
tmorris1 Offline
tmorris1  Offline

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,467
MN
WIFI seems to be working fine. Obviously a wiring or switch problem.

Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884648
10/01/18 03:01 PM
10/01/18 03:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 40,143
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Online content
OVERKILL  Online Content

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 40,143
Ontario, Canada
Try a different ethernet cable for starters, you could also try bypassing the switch and seeing if that yields the results you are looking for. I wouldn't suspect the router if wireless speeds are fine, since they are both passing through the same device.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Wired Routers [Re: tmorris1] #4884681
10/01/18 04:02 PM
10/01/18 04:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,649
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,649
ME
Originally Posted by tmorris1
I assume your wireless AP has DHCP server turned off?


Yup, this. Sounds like a conflict.

I presently have two TP-link routers-- one in my basement with the wifi turned off that has DHCP duty and runs a couple wires to important wired things in my house. The other is only a wireless access point (at a better altitude for reaching everything) and has no routing or DHCP duties. They run DD-WRT firmware, FWIW, but you could do this with the stock version.

Re: Wired Routers [Re: eljefino] #4884698
10/01/18 04:29 PM
10/01/18 04:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 40,143
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Online content
OVERKILL  Online Content

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 40,143
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by eljefino
Originally Posted by tmorris1
I assume your wireless AP has DHCP server turned off?


Yup, this. Sounds like a conflict.

I presently have two TP-link routers-- one in my basement with the wifi turned off that has DHCP duty and runs a couple wires to important wired things in my house. The other is only a wireless access point (at a better altitude for reaching everything) and has no routing or DHCP duties. They run DD-WRT firmware, FWIW, but you could do this with the stock version.


Conflicting IP addresses don't create speed deficiencies, they generally produce non-connectivity for one of the two devices.


2019 RAM 1500 Sport - Mobil 1 EP 0w-20, FRAM Ultra
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT - Ravenol SSL 0w-40, FRAM Ultra
Re: Wired Routers [Re: fraso] #4884816
10/01/18 06:26 PM
10/01/18 06:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 204
Fort Erie, ON
fraso Offline OP
fraso  Offline OP

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 204
Fort Erie, ON
I have the DAP-1650 set up as a WAP so it should not have DHCP duty.

I did the speed.net (3 tests) just now and got:
Ping: 19 / 89 / 28 ms
Download: 2.75 / 3.68 / 3.40 Mbps
Upload: 11.18 / 8.85 / 9.08 Mbps

I then checked my DAP-1650 but was not able to find it on the network. I reset it and reconfigured it as a wireless access point. I can see it now but it didn't make any difference to my file download speed (as reported by Firefox).

My house uses a foil vapour barrier so the TL-WR841N has a very low signal strength in the house so DAP-1650 provides the WiFi connection.

Re: Wired Routers [Re: OVERKILL] #4884817
10/01/18 06:26 PM
10/01/18 06:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,649
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 34,649
ME
Originally Posted by OVERKILL

Conflicting IP addresses don't create speed deficiencies, they generally produce non-connectivity for one of the two devices.


Running two is more than twice as complicated as running one. LOL

OP should check everything out.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™