New Reloading Toys

Status
Not open for further replies.
My sons are old enough now and are getting into different types of shooting. I have reloaded centerfire metallic cartridges for decades at this point, however, I have never tried my hand at reloading shotgun shells. An elderly gentleman became disabled and could no longer reload and sold me an SL 900. Received it yesterday and it looks like it has never been used. I plan to get it set up soon.

Much like pistol and rifle cartridges, I am going to assume there are wide variations in the different types of shot pellets, shotgun powder, primers, and other components. Generally speaking though, are shotshell pellets more or less the same across the board? Since shotguns are not necessarily known for extreme accuracy, unlike rifle and pistol cartridges and I hesitate to make an assumption, but in many ways it seems like the brand of pellets would make no difference. Just curious as to all of your experiences.

I have no experience reloading shotgun shells, but like you have reloaded many different centerfire cartridges. It seems like a cool thing, and I imagine you could do some neat stuff. I've never fired mini shells, but they also intrigue me. I also have no experience reloading rimfire, but have seen kits that enable this. I would think we'd be talking zombie apocalypse for this to happen. I have many, many bricks of .22 LR going back decades.

Very nice. Dillon makes some great units

As far as shot goes, it's rated in size of the shot and material its made from (lead, copper, etc). The important bit here that determines your powder load, wadding, and any other considerations is the weight, which will be specified in the loading manual you're using

Originally Posted by SnowDrifter
Very nice. Dillon makes some great units