Sub amp selection

Status
Not open for further replies.
In my work van, I currently have a Blaupunkt THA1250. Its a 250W@4ohms Class D amp. I purchased it about 6 years ago, and works great, except for one problem.
You see, I am a licensed HAM radio operator. What I have discovered is the Blaupunkt amp spews so much noise @145MHz that my VHF radio is basically unusable, because the RF noise floor is so high. I can take a handheld radio tuned to 145MHz, walk dozens of feet from the van and still hear the digital fluttering. Its comical that it ended up there because the 2 meter amateur band runs from 144-148MHz and being where it is manages to wipe out about 80% of the band, its so broad.
Right now I have two line filters in series on the power going into the amp, trying to knock the noise down. And that works, to a point, but Im still having issues and Im seriously ready to rip it out and go with something else.
What I would like is another Class D amp, because I only pulled wire suitable for running a 250-300w Class D amp. It may end up that because of the digital switching noise, none of them will have acceptable RF noise level and in that case I would have to pull thicker wire and go with a Class A/B.
So Im really grasping for straws here; I doubt any one would have knowledge of what exactly their amp is doing, but Im hoping maybe, just maybe someone might have experience with the same situation and found something that works.
Ill probably end up buying a A/B type amp but I'd like to avoid pulling a new wire run. Its only got 8ga running to the fuse panel.

Last edited:
No surprise with a class D amp and it's switching power supply. Shield the entire thing, including the wires? It's generally accepted that class D is the right amp for a sub. Efficient, powerful, cheap. A good class D amp won't have sound quality issues.

Originally Posted by Cujet