2018 Subaru WRX - Oil

Hi folks,

New to the forum, but have read many of the posts over the years. Great information...Thanks all!!

I've been using Castrol Syntec (now edge) for several years on my vehicles (Rav4 V6, VW 1.8T), but have now acquired a Subaru WRX and have been reading a bit, perhaps over reading, and over thinking which engine oil to use. According to spec. it states 5W30 with API-SN, or ILSAC GL4/5 or better. There are several "performance" oils on the market (Motul, Royal Purple, Total etc..) and even the Syntec from Canadian Tire is rated SN as well as Pennzoil, Mobil 1 etc.

Question is, which one is "better" to handle the extreme temperatures of the Subaru Turbo, and the lovely Toronto weather yet to come. Thoughts?

Thanks folks,

I was going to say Rotella T6 5w40, but since its new and under warranty, why not go with a 5w30 meeting D1G2, at least until SN+ oil comes available. Thats what Id do. Welcome to BITOG by the way!

I would use a full synthetic, 5W-30 API SN+, D1G2 in your favorite brand. A full synth should give better cold start flow versus non synthetic 5W-30 since you're up there in the GWN.

There's also Rotella T6 Multi Vehicle if you can find it.

A "normal" synthetic worth looking at is Castrol Magnatec. Last I looked, it was $18 something a jug on Walmart.com.

Originally Posted by Oildudeny
read your manual

Guys, stop telling him to read his manual, he already has as he states in his original post what the oil requirements are from his manual so he's obviously read it already. So now he's asking for which brands that other people would recommend for him to handle both the heat of the turbo and a Toronto winter. I personally would recommend either Mobil 1 5w30 or Pennzoil Platinum 5w30, whichever happens to be on sale at Canadian Tire at oil change time
smile.gif