2012 Infiniti QX56/80 Castrol 0W40 5,060 miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been visiting this forum for ages and finally became a member today. This is my first time to send a oil sample to Blackstone for analysis. I got the results today and would like to share here to maybe see what you guys think and I may learn something new from you guys.

Vehicle: 2012 Infiniti QX56/80
Oil used: German Castrol 0W40 with Mobil 1 Extended Performance filter
No make up oil was added during this run
Miles on oil: 5,060 miles
Current miles on vehicle: 131,000 miles
Additional Info: This run saw a mixed of long highway trips, stop and go traffic, dusty offraoding in Utah and serious mountain climbing using 4Lo in a lot of the mountains in Colorado. A lot of high engine revs and some high speeds too.

The oil recommended for the car by Infniti/Nissan is 5W30. But I had done some research and decided to start using 0W40. This is my first time using 0W40 in this vehicle. And at my current oil change when I took the sample, I am still using German Castrol 0W40 with Mobil EP filter.

This is a pic of the car when I was doing Blackbear Pass in Colorado last month.

Black Bear Pass 12,840ft. A badger decided to pose too in my pic.
WDQJmxi.jpg

And a link to my build thread and maintenance thread on clubarmada...

Build Thread...

And now my maintenance thread. Detailing everything I do on my car since I bought it 2 and a half years ago.

Detailed maintenance on my Infiniti QX56/80

Last edited:
Thanks for the compliment.

As for the copper, no idea.

What coolers are you referring to? If I have aftermarket oil coolers? I don't have any. Car is bone stock.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Onetor
Copper probably from oil cooler? Nice SUV. Rather unique.

Thanks for the compliment.

As for the copper, no idea.

What coolers are you referring to? If I have aftermarket oil coolers? I don't have any. Car is bone stock.

Originally Posted By: 69GTX
Viscosity held up nicely.