Suitable oil for Air-Cooled Porsche(Especially 964,993)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have used semi-synthetic oil(15W-50) and PAO-based full-synthetic oil(10W-40) so far.

Air-cooled engines are said to be oil-cooled engines, and selection of engine oil is very difficult.

PAO-based full-synthetic oil was a very good engine feeling, but unfortunately oil leak occurred.

Now I am using group3-based full-synthetic oil(10W-50), but at present no oil leak does not occur and engine feeling is smooth.

PAO-based full-synthetic oil kept a good feeling until replacement, I wanted to use it even if I could not get any oil leaks ,,,,,,

What kind of thing do you think is suitable oil for Air-Cooled Porsche?

A group 5 ester based oil. Redline, Renewable Lubricants, or Ravenol. Just my humble opinion. I'm no expert, like some of the others.

Originally Posted by 1JZ_E46
Do you have Mobil 1 15W-50 in Japan? That would be a good fit.

I was going to post the same. M1 15W-50 or M1 FS X2 5W-50 (which is Porsche A40 approved) would be a great fit for your engine.

Redline 5W-40 would do well, as would the Ravenol Racing 5W-40.

Of course Rotella, Delo, or Delvac 15W-40 on a reasonable interval would be perfectly fine.

Thank you for your reply.

I live in Japan.

My mechanic specializing in air-cooled Porsche says that Group 5 base oils and M1 oils tend to cause oil leakage.

So, I am using personal imports of HPR10 of Penrite in Australia now.

This oil is a group 3 base oil, but I feel that initial performance is high, because of the good performance of the oil.

Originally Posted by 1991AirCooled
Thank you for your reply.

I live in Japan.

My mechanic specializing in air-cooled Porsche says that Group 5 base oils and M1 oils tend to cause oil leakage.

So, I am using personal imports of HPR10 of Penrite in Australia now.

This oil is a group 3 base oil, but I feel that initial performance is high, because of the good performance of the oil.