Hey Canucks - Petro Canada Fuel Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey fellow Canucks,

How does Petro Canada Top-Tier fuel compare to that of other stations we have up here? I get my fuel paid for by work and they prefer us to use Petro Canada because they get a discount but I haven't really used them in the past and have preferred using Shell where possible. I find I get the best performance and economy out of their gas at least in my previous vehicles.

Also do you see any benefit of using the Premium over the Regular for the added cleaning agents? According to Petro's website all grades meet Top-Tier and have cleaning agents but the premium contains the most.

08.gif

I can't get points because of the Fleet card discount they get. But with gas prices at ~ $1.30 / Litre I'll take the free company gas.
lol.gif

Last edited:
I have filled up 185 times in the past 5 years. 184 times at Petro Canada. I have no experience with other places (Esso, Shell) but I would think they are pretty much the same.

Originally Posted By: maxdustington
I think they offer Optimum points now, too.

That's Esso

I used Petro-Canada gas a lot in years past, but my G37 did not like that station's premium. The old F-150 doesn't care about what gas I throw at it. When I had the Lightning, it was fine with Petro-Canada's premium. The G37 stumbles a bit on it on occasion and gets warm start issues. I've tried many times, thinking it was my imagination, but had to move on.

As for running premium instead of regular for enhanced detergency, I suppose that depends upon how its blended. Shell advertises enhanced detergency for its V-Power NiTRO+, but that may not apply to other stations' offerings.

Petro Canada states that their Premium has more detergents in it. They even allude to it on the pump buttons showing more Beakers as you go up in octane.

Quote: