E0 or Top tier? Which would be better?

Status
Not open for further replies.
In my area, I can get both types, although not all E0 stations are Top Tier.

And there are plenty Top Tier stations that only sell E10.

If you had to pick, which takes priority?

Top Tier. I’ve been running (at least) E7 since 1997 and never, ever, had a fuel issue with any engine I’ve owned. Cars, motorcycles, boats, lawn mowers, snow blowers, edgers, etc. Ethanol is a massivley overblown “problem” if you ask me.

Last edited:
If we are talking prices equal, E0 everytme.

I can add (and do) Gumout Regane periodically for cleaning. But I can’t undo the damage the alcohol does to the system.

E0 is so rare and expensive around here, I don’t use it regularly. When travelling, I have an app on my phone - “Real Gas,” that I use to find it affordably.

What's the price? Normally E0 isn't worth the premium over E10. But of course if it's the same price, then E0 is always better just because of more btu's per gallon. Top tier over regular gas at the same price. But I wouldn't go out of my way for it. Whatever is cheapest and close by, I'm not brand loyal. All the gas comes from the same tanker around here, I'm not running a DI engine so pretty much the minimum mandated amount of detergents by the EPA is good enough for me.

E10 87 is 2.57 , E10 93 is 3.07 and E 0 87 is 2.77 . I get 10 percent more fuel from puregas than 87e10. I dont even pay ten percent more to get more fuel. I buy fuel at either Caseys or QT. Not worried about if its top tier or not. Got a bottle of Redline Si-1 at all times and a dash occasionally of PEA beats any top tier detergent anytime.

Top tier is a detergent additive certification, top tier fuels can be with or without ethanol.

E0 fuel can be with or without detergent additive,

Personally I would look to buy fuel that meets top tier specs and contains 0% E.

Or just buy whatever, add water then drain, add Redline Si1 and have some of the best fuel anywhere.