What is the longest you have had a car battery las

Status
Not open for further replies.
11 years.

And I replaced it on age, not performance/failure to start. OEM Volvo battery. Volvo wagons have the battery under the rear cargo floor - the moderate temperature back there contributes to long life

14 years on Motorcraft battery pair: 2004 to 2012 in 2003 7.3 diesel pickup (likely orig batteries in truck - could have been sold when new model year came out in 2002), then 2012 to present in 1997 7.3 diesel pickup. They could be as old as 16 yrs. I've been expecting them to give up for 6 years, but they don't.

Bought the Miata in '09, it had a OPTIMA YelowTop installed, and it did not look new. I never did check the date code, which is regrettable if only for the sake of the OP's question. But I replaced it in 2017 (8 years in my care) with another YellowTop, which (obviously) is working fine now.

I have had some conventional wet cell lead-acid batteries last six years, starting a tired chevy V8 in sometimes -40C winter weather. While working in the Arctic I once started it, from a field (no block heater) at -47C [-54F]. I had parked it there as the company truck was available to me and I had no intention of firing it up until the day I was scheduled to leave, in the spring. That's Mobil1 0W-40 and proper winter electrical maintenance at work. The truck had 220,000 miles but sometime before I got it it had a replacement motor (blue paint). No idea if it was a swap or a rebuild, but factory replacement GM 350's are black paint and chevy of course orange.

Used it to boost ["jump start" for the Americans reading] a 2006 F250, but even though I could get the Ford to turn over well, it never actually started. Had to drag it indoors and fire up some heaters.