Recent Topics
Redline 15w40: Low or Mid Saps?
by SavagePatch. 09/24/18 06:59 PM
What are these cables to?
by 99Eclipse. 09/24/18 06:44 PM
Help with parasitic draw?
by buck91. 09/24/18 05:57 PM
Costco Car Buying Program
by dkryan. 09/24/18 05:39 PM
Glass Scrub?
by buck91. 09/24/18 05:03 PM
Loosing coolant from somewhere
by NICAT. 09/24/18 03:47 PM
2010 or so Ford Fusion Sport thoughts?
by ZZman. 09/24/18 03:35 PM
My boss killed his jeep.
by Chris142. 09/24/18 02:40 PM
Moly question about walmart oils
by jayjr1105. 09/24/18 02:33 PM
Questions About 9011 Bulbs
by knerml. 09/24/18 02:23 PM
Lubricant Additives - A Practical Guide
by wemay. 09/24/18 01:39 PM
Fram Ultra--Any Real Competition?
by IndyFan. 09/24/18 12:59 PM
Used generator price.
by Eddie. 09/24/18 11:55 AM
Newest Members
albert001, LG_Electronics, TCam, OzFrog, Kursk
66062 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
109 registered members (53' Stude, 16HC, 99Eclipse, 97prizm, 92saturnsl2, 10 invisible), 1,797 guests, and 36 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,958
Posts4,853,282
Members66,062
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Q: CD 'rip'? #4807141
07/06/18 08:59 PM
07/06/18 08:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline OP
sleddriver  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Trying to streamline this process. When I was using a Sansa Clip player, it was rather straightforward (after I'd figured out WMP (PITA)). Problem is now the Sansa player battery will no longer hold a charge so it's Tango Uniform. Not sure if it (battery) can be replaced or not?

Backup is iPod Nano. I charged, then had to figure it out all over again. It won't work with WMP. I haven't installed iTunes as it hear it's now bloatware (true?). I'm trying out MediaMonkey will will work the Nano, however it's quite complicated to 'wing it'. Too much non-essential information (skins??), lack of straight-forward instructions and a PITA to learn.

The free version won't rip a CD??? WUWT? Found out I need LAME (who makes these names up?) installed in the MM/plug-ins folder. Doesn't work. Then I read it should be installed in the MM main folder. That appears to have worked as I saw a progress bar.

Is there another program I should be using instead? I've now spent > 2hrs trying to solve this problem with MM. Geeze....

Perhaps iTunes is worth the bloat???


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807146
07/06/18 09:03 PM
07/06/18 09:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 10,714
Phoenix, AZ
Nick1994 Offline
Nick1994  Offline
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 10,714
Phoenix, AZ
Just drag your music into iTunes and click Sync


2015 Hyundai Sonata 2.4L 84k Mobil 1 AFE 0w30 & OEM
2000 Toyota Camry 2.2L 230k Valvoline 5w30 & Fram Ultra
1996 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L 147k Mobil 1 HM 10w40 & Fram Ultra
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807167
07/06/18 09:15 PM
07/06/18 09:15 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,109
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,109
ME
You're running into licensing issues. The MP3 encoding codec has a patent. Lame is from "the land that doesn't care" and has to be added separately. Hang in there, you almost have it!

Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807189
07/06/18 09:36 PM
07/06/18 09:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,311
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,311
Great Lakes


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: eljefino] #4807203
07/06/18 09:52 PM
07/06/18 09:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline OP
sleddriver  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
So that's what's going on...now I seem to recall having to do the same thing with Audacity way back when. Except they actually EXPLAINED THE NEED TO DO SO!

Looks like it worked.

Then another weird problem...somehow the Nano was no longer selected under 'send to' and in its place was a READYBOOST thumb drive??!! WTH? How'd that happen? So now the RB drive has audio on it.

Finally figured out how to remove inappropriate devices from the 'tree'.

OK so I finally have new Acoustic Alchemy selected-songs 'ripped', converted to MP3 and loaded on the Nano in the same order I selected them. Now I can go cook.....

One more thing...looks like I damaged the TOC track on a favorite Acoustic Alchemy disk The Beautiful Game. The disk won't read in the car, on the Dell DT or Apple LT machines. What now? Royal shame this disk is now buggered....rats. It has some great music on it.


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: Quattro Pete] #4807206
07/06/18 09:58 PM
07/06/18 09:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline OP
sleddriver  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Thanks Pete! Foobar??? What a name to associate to your product!

I found another product from Germany called AudioGrabber (https://www.audiograbber.de/). Looks like their US-English site no longer connects. I don't read Deutsch (where's Trav?)

Off to cook....


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807245
07/06/18 10:34 PM
07/06/18 10:34 PM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
The land of USA-made Subies!
SubieRubyRoo Offline
SubieRubyRoo  Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
The land of USA-made Subies!
ExactAudioCopy is another one if you are looking for high-quality rips that can then be recoded at lower bitrates without being so lossy.

Exact Audio Copy

Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807253
07/06/18 10:43 PM
07/06/18 10:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,187
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,187
Ontario, Canada
Honestly, iTunes isn't that bad.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807346
07/07/18 05:45 AM
07/07/18 05:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,404
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Garak Online content
Garak  Online Content
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,404
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
sleddriver, I thought you had Linux set up somewhere. Last time I ripped a CD, and that was a while ago, I just used VLC to do that. WinFF should be able to get it done, as well, with some pretty handy presets.


Plain, simple Garak.

2008 Infiniti G37 - Shell ROTELLA T6 Multi-Vehicle 5w-30, NAPA Gold 7356
1984 F-150 4.9L - Quaker State GB 10w-30, Wix 51515
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4807494
07/07/18 09:31 AM
07/07/18 09:31 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,079
Midwest, Illinois
beanoil Offline
beanoil  Offline
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,079
Midwest, Illinois
EAC is the best free rip out there. It takes some work getting it configured though.
BUT...
Spend the 39 bucks and get dbPoweramp. Easy to use, nice interface, just works every time. Look through their list of cd and dvd drives that read scratched disks, turn on Accurate Rip, and you just might save that Acoustic Alchemy disk from the trash.


beanoil: Tough under heat, real dirty afterwards.
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4808218
07/08/18 09:36 AM
07/08/18 09:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 142
Illinois
onetwoothreee Offline
onetwoothreee  Offline
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 142
Illinois
Originally Posted By: sleddriver
The free version won't rip a CD???

If you import to iTunes from another program, you have to make sure it can read the tags. In foobar, it's right click > Tagging > MP3 tag types > Override ID3v2 revision: v2.3

Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: OVERKILL] #4808511
07/08/18 05:21 PM
07/08/18 05:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,465
Clermont, Florida
Jimmy9190 Offline
Jimmy9190  Offline
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,465
Clermont, Florida
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Honestly, iTunes isn't that bad.


iTunes is OK and does have its uses. I used iTunes to import CD's using the standard iTunes 256 kbps AAC format. Then I took my MP3 library and synced it to iTunes also at 256kbps. I put the whole collection on my old 7th gen 80 GB Ipod Classic but have not used it in a very long time. I used Itunes to convert the AAC files to MP3 format and now just use MP3's on my phone and flash drive I use in my car. Everything sounds fine to me, just like a CD and I find regular MP3 files to be a lot less trouble than using my Ipod. I have a master MP3 list on a 128GB flash drive and just use Windows to manage it, it is very simple.

Itunes always had a problem when I added new music and tried to sync to my Ipod where it would give an error saying it could not locate 3 or 4 random albums or anywhere from 3 or 4 to 50 or 60 songs (all of which had been previously added to my library and synced to my Ipod). I gave up on iTunes but still use their store to check out new music from time to time. For the last year or so iTunes mostly has "new releases" that are of absolutely no interest to me. Itunes does have its purpose for me to convert CD's to MP3 format or change AAC files to MP3 and occasionally sample an album or song but that is about it.


Jimmy9190
2013 Honda Civic LX Sedan
Supertech Synthetic 0W20
Fram PH7317
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: OVERKILL] #4810424
07/10/18 03:28 PM
07/10/18 03:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline OP
sleddriver  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
https://www.zdnet.com/article/the-unofficial-guide-to-installing-itunes-10-without-bloatware/

A bit dated perhaps, but got me thinking.

It is installed on my old BlackBook running OS X.xxx though. I don't tend to keep much on that one though.

I did have iTunes installed on a previous system, running XP.


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: Garak] #4810426
07/10/18 03:30 PM
07/10/18 03:30 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline OP
sleddriver  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Originally Posted By: Garak
sleddriver, I thought you had Linux set up somewhere. Last time I ripped a CD, and that was a while ago, I just used VLC to do that. WinFF should be able to get it done, as well, with some pretty handy presets.
I was using it on an old Dell laptop for a bit. Not regular use though.

I do have VLC. Didn't think about it...thanks for the reminder.


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Re: Q: CD 'rip'? [Re: sleddriver] #4810433
07/10/18 03:35 PM
07/10/18 03:35 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
sleddriver Offline OP
sleddriver  Offline OP
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,838
Central Texas
Thanks to all for chiming in! I appreciate your responses and coming to my aid.


1998 Volvo V70 T5 228,880 mi. Original Owner.
M1 10W-30 HM
"It's never a mistake to buy tools, defined broadly. They're not a cost, they're an investment." - J.B. Peterson
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™