2018 Raptor 3.5 HO break in and oil questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning, I’ve seen some posts about the eco boost engines and their beak in procedures. 2,000 miles at a semi synthetic oil then change to full synthetic from there on after. Is this the best and correct way?

Also I wasn’t sure if anything was different with the HO Ecoboost motor in the raptor in terms of OCI or break in that’s out of The ordinary . I was thinking of running redline 5w30 after my first oil change, but was wondering what my oil interval could be. I do not have the truck yet and was hearing the normal interval is 7-8000 miles with a motorcraft / mobile 1 full synthetic? I was wondering if the OCI would remain the same with redline. Or if not it would obviously be better to run such a great oil with with the turboed engine. I’m new to turbo engines also. as I was coming from a ram 1500 where I ran 5w30 Redline with Royal Purple Oil filter.

Is there anything I should keep in mind with a turbo engine? Anything to watch out for or make sure I am doing to take the best care of it. I plan on putting a lot of miles on this vehicle as I drive 20-25,000 per year.

I know very little about turbos .

Everything I have read indicates the turbo NEEDS clean oil . And not only for lubrication of those parts whizzing around at high RPM's . The oil also aids in cooling things .

I would think it depends somewhat on how much you put your foot into it ?
Best of luck to you , :)

Guys on here had terrific luck with semi syn castrol Magnatec. They don't seem to market that anymore. I used in a non turbo and it was great, then I tred the full synthetic and HATED it. So I cant rec Magnatec.

Im running QSUD 10w30 NON DEXOS approved AND IT IS EXCELLENT. Best syn Ive run in over a decade by far. Doubt the 5w30 is as good especially in a turbo.

I'll see you at the gas station every other day. 80 - 100 bucks a whack I bet