Recommend an oil to me... Pennz, M1, Castrol...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
In sunny South Florida, I'm looking for an oil for my 2015 Lexus GS 350 with 26K miles on the odometer. I do plan on performing UOAs and will post results here for feedback.

Oil capacity is 6.6 qts (with filter), ILSAC GF-5 multigrade engine oil, Recommended viscosity: SAE 0W-20
I'm a fairly aggressive driver, I pass most folks on the road, but occasionally the ricers do a fly-by (I do not follow)
My daily commute involves a 17 mile, 30 minute trip to work each day (one way), and in West Palm Beach, traffic is pretty scarce so most driving is "suburb-ian" not really highway nor city.
And finally, no mechanical issues, other than that silver-grey ferrous residue I found on the dipstick last night. I'm hoping for UOAs to shed a little light.

Back in '05, '06 and '07,
I found myself unimpressed with Mobil 1 (it's a solid performer but IMO, too hyped and expensive),
and really liking the way Pennzoil Platinum performed in my G35 and Sequioa.
I ended up using Valvoline MaxLife SynthBlend for a combination of value and protection (peace of mind). Toyota recommends 5W-30 but I've always used 10W-30. Currently have about 325K miles on the Sequioa with 3K miles on the current fill of the Valvoline Synth Blend, and I will certainly run a UOA for kicks and giggles (I typically use a 6K OCI).

So given my vehicle, driving style, climate, and my preferences... what do you guys think? What would you recommend? I'd like to hear different opinions and beliefs before I make my own leap of faith. Personally, I'm leaning towards 5W-20, and running a first fill of Pennz Gold with a UOA at about 7K and then maybe switching to Plat, depending on the results.

Last edited:
Whichever 0w20 you can buy the cheapest. I haven't had any problems with Castrol Edge, Mobil 1, idemitsu and now NAPA FULL synthetic which is Valvoline. All good oil

Originally Posted By: chinee