Recent Topics
Baldwin pf7934 fuel filters for 6.4 powerstroke diesel
by earthmover1980. 11/16/18 09:22 PM
Original 1982 RV TH400 - Dexron 3 or Dexron 6???
by leroyd92. 11/16/18 08:42 PM
Snow blower headlight bulb
by Oildudeny. 11/16/18 08:12 PM
Joined the 4Runner club!
by laserred96gt. 11/16/18 08:10 PM
Porsche 996 - Oxidization? Joe Gibs DT40
by strathconaman. 11/16/18 08:01 PM
Mobil Dex VI $4.99 Qt @ Summit Racing
by The_Cams. 11/16/18 07:20 PM
Sprinkler wiring broke inside the wall
by PandaBear. 11/16/18 07:19 PM
Using Honda wiper refills in a Hyundai
by mclasser. 11/16/18 07:05 PM
Transporting a Handgun
by Al. 11/16/18 06:58 PM
Snowblower kicks out seal
by supton. 11/16/18 06:41 PM
Lotus OEM, '05 supercharged Elise ~2K miles
by wings&wheels. 11/16/18 06:32 PM
ALL Band Solid State Receiver
by MolaKule. 11/16/18 06:06 PM
Risks of Building Home on Reclaimed Strip Mine Land?
by LoneRanger. 11/16/18 05:10 PM
Mobil 1 0W40 ESP or 5W30 ESP For My Truck?
by Best F100. 11/16/18 04:22 PM
Suction ATF change?
by buck91. 11/16/18 04:22 PM
Oli change labor $11
by Duffyjr. 11/16/18 02:35 PM
Subaru TR580 Lineartronic CVT - Drain and Refill
by The Critic. 11/16/18 02:06 PM
6f35 flush
by dogememe. 11/16/18 01:28 PM
Newest Members
babake, messenger300, Sammeh, Dan6074, 18Ram0311
66453 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
88 registered members (Aichiguy, Alfred_B, alphadog, 14Accent, 2015_PSD, 2003f7, 7 invisible), 1,269 guests, and 42 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics293,613
Posts4,901,641
Members66,453
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? #4786150
06/13/18 06:04 PM
06/13/18 06:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
How can I tell if the following network ports are open and functional?

The latest version of "Dell SupportAssist" doesn't work and I'm trying to figure out why. Previous version worked, so wondering if maybe the network port requirements might be the issue.





Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4786154
06/13/18 06:10 PM
06/13/18 06:10 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,055
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,055
NE,Ohio
do you have any kind of internet security/firewall installed?
what router are you using.


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: Rand] #4786157
06/13/18 06:13 PM
06/13/18 06:13 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Originally Posted By: Rand
do you have any kind of internet security/firewall installed?
what router are you using.


Yes, Windows 7 with firewall enabled. Using a CenturyLink modem.

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4786204
06/13/18 07:07 PM
06/13/18 07:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,572
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,572
USA
The modem-router by default will have all ports open for outgoing connections and all ports closed to incoming connections.

If these are outgoing connections you may need to do something in windows firewall.

Last edited by mk378; 06/13/18 07:08 PM.
Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4786263
06/13/18 08:40 PM
06/13/18 08:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,859
CA
spackard Offline
spackard  Offline
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,859
CA
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/

More difficult to test outgoing. The way I'd do it is install DU Meter, then look if the software in question is connected to those ports on whatever host(s) Dell runs that the software connects to.
Just difficult to read the "View network connections..." "Open TCP Connections" for non-professionals, or maybe not.

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4786294
06/13/18 09:26 PM
06/13/18 09:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Are these ports controlled in the modem settings? Where is it that they can be enabled or not?

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4786299
06/13/18 09:29 PM
06/13/18 09:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,709
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,709
Ontario, Canada
The software only calls out, and I doubt there is anything blocking those ports outgoing, given the device you are using. Is this the most recent version of the program from the Dell support site? I generally dislike those programs for a variety of reasons, but why do you think you need it?


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: OVERKILL] #4786318
06/13/18 10:24 PM
06/13/18 10:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
The software only calls out, and I doubt there is anything blocking those ports outgoing, given the device you are using. Is this the most recent version of the program from the Dell support site? I generally dislike those programs for a variety of reasons, but why do you think you need it?


Yes, it's the latest version of "Dell SupportAssist". Like said earlier, the previous version worked fine. SupportAssist actually did an auto-update, wasn't my choice - there's probably a setting I can change to make it not auto-update.

SupportAssist is actually kind of handy because it runs based on my specific machine (ie, tag number) and knows if I have outdated drivers, BIOS, etc. It also has a bunch of diagnostic tools for memory, HD, monitor, etc.

I even uninstalled the non-working SupportAssist and went to Dell's website to do a fresh install which looked to go well, but it still doesn't load when I launch it.

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4786506
06/14/18 07:46 AM
06/14/18 07:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,860
NC
BigD1 Offline
BigD1  Offline
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,860
NC
You really don't need SupportAssist.

You can get all those drivers, bios updates, and etc. from just going to the Dell website, and entering the tag number.

It's been a while since my last Dell. It should have a hidden partition that the Dell software uses to set the machine back to as it came from the factory. My memory is fading on this one, but I recall that it was accessed with a function key. Dell should have instructions on how to recover to factory on their website.

You might have a recovery disk that came with the Dell that has the imaging software/recovery on it.


1992 Toyota Pickup--Harvest King Premium 10W-30--Fram PH3614
Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: BigD1] #4786713
06/14/18 12:58 PM
06/14/18 12:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Originally Posted By: BigD1
You really don't need SupportAssist.

You can get all those drivers, bios updates, and etc. from just going to the Dell website, and entering the tag number.


True, I probably don't need half the software on my computer. But I did like some of the features SupportAssist provided.

Originally Posted By: BigD1
It's been a while since my last Dell. It should have a hidden partition that the Dell software uses to set the machine back to as it came from the factory. My memory is fading on this one, but I recall that it was accessed with a function key. Dell should have instructions on how to recover to factory on their website.

You might have a recovery disk that came with the Dell that has the imaging software/recovery on it.


I don't need to recover anything really - got way too many updates, etc on this computer to start from scratch. It's just that the new version of SupportAssist doesn't work on my computer, even though it meets all the requirements for the software to work. I think Dell has an installation bug or code issue going on with the new version since the auto update and my fresh manual installation both don't work.

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: spackard] #4787567
06/15/18 02:24 PM
06/15/18 02:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Originally Posted By: spackard
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/


I used that port scanning tool and it says all those ports I listed in my first post were "closed" when the tool is using my "Public IPv4 Address".

So I'm wondering if that's the issue, or is it something else? I would think that the installation program from Dell would check or configure ports that were required.

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4788140
06/16/18 08:43 AM
06/16/18 08:43 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,709
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,709
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: spackard
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/


I used that port scanning tool and it says all those ports I listed in my first post were "closed" when the tool is using my "Public IPv4 Address".

So I'm wondering if that's the issue, or is it something else? I would think that the installation program from Dell would check or configure ports that were required.


No, those ports are supposed to be closed to the outside world. As long as the software can get OUT, that's what matters, and those tools do not check for that.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix] #4788511
06/16/18 06:10 PM
06/16/18 06:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,858
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Garak Offline
Garak  Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 25,858
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Another great place to check ports and find all kinds of resources is at grc.com.


Plain, simple Garak.

2008 Infiniti G37 - Shell ROTELLA T6 Multi-Vehicle 5w-30, NAPA Gold 7356
1984 F-150 4.9L - Quaker State GB 10w-30, Wix 51515
Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: OVERKILL] #4788534
06/16/18 06:39 PM
06/16/18 06:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: spackard
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/

I used that port scanning tool and it says all those ports I listed in my first post were "closed" when the tool is using my "Public IPv4 Address".

So I'm wondering if that's the issue, or is it something else? I would think that the installation program from Dell would check or configure ports that were required.

No, those ports are supposed to be closed to the outside world. As long as the software can get OUT, that's what matters, and those tools do not check for that.


How can I tell if ports 5700, 9012, 8883, 8884, 8885 & 8886 are "open" for outgoing?

Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: Garak] #4788640
06/16/18 08:29 PM
06/16/18 08:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
ZeeOSix Offline OP
ZeeOSix  Offline OP
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 19,185
PNW
Originally Posted By: Garak
Another great place to check ports and find all kinds of resources is at grc.com.


I went there, and I'm assuming you are talking about their tool called "SheildsUP", the link is located down about 2/3 down from the top of this page: https://www.grc.com/default.htm

I ran most of the SheildsUP tests, and it showed that all my ports are in "Stealth" status. Apparently this means the ports don't show up as "existing" to the outside world ... but I'm not sure if that also means it could be closed, but in a "Stealth" way.

https://www.grc.com/su/portstatusinfo.htm

I also did a custom 'port probe' on ports 5700, 9012, 8883 thru 8886 and all show up as "Stealth".


Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™