Recent Topics
Letgo
by Donald
06/24/18 06:52 PM
Tire buying advice
by supton
06/24/18 06:23 PM
Two versions of M1 5w30 ESP now?
by Patman
06/24/18 06:21 PM
No older cars in New York State?
by Oldtom
06/24/18 06:19 PM
2009 Taurus strut mount noise
by terry274
06/24/18 04:38 PM
A3/B3 vs A3/B4, big difference or irrelevant?
by FordCapriDriver
06/24/18 03:36 PM
2003 Honda power steering problem
by hogpops
06/24/18 03:29 PM
Public Service Announcement: Flush Your HW Heater
by gathermewool
06/24/18 03:25 PM
Fellow 2AZ-FE toyota owners: what oil are you usin
by car51
06/24/18 03:21 PM
Castrol 0W40 vs 5W40??
by Realfine69
06/24/18 03:02 PM
Paint impurities on a new car
by Quattro Pete
06/24/18 02:49 PM
2014 Ram wheel FIT on a 2005 Ram?
by SumpChump
06/24/18 02:41 PM
Do people buy from telemarketers?
by Chris142
06/24/18 02:06 PM
TGMO 0W20, 8100km/5mo, 2013 Lexus GS350AWD 118K KM
by David_Corbett
06/24/18 01:54 PM
Sonoma Raceway
by Warstud
06/24/18 01:51 PM
Zipcode error
by aquariuscsm
06/24/18 01:36 PM
NHRA drag racing Racing question??
by daddi
06/24/18 01:33 PM
Milesyn 5w30 5 gal pails $50.94 w/prime
by Samrsnow
06/24/18 01:20 PM
Removing Broken Bathtub Drain
by Warstud
06/24/18 01:15 PM
Buffer Pads
by TheLawnRanger
06/24/18 01:10 PM
Newest Members
crrider, EdDmax, 2018matto, Lancruza, IanSampson
65312 Registered Users
Who's Online
104 registered (2015_PSD, A310, 379KITTY, 55hambone, 9c1lt1, 12 invisible), 1574 Guests and 33 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65312 Members
67 Forums
285931 Topics
4771640 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4786150 - 06/13/18 07:04 PM Network Ports - How Can I Check Status?
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
How can I tell if the following network ports are open and functional?

The latest version of "Dell SupportAssist" doesn't work and I'm trying to figure out why. Previous version worked, so wondering if maybe the network port requirements might be the issue.





Top
#4786154 - 06/13/18 07:10 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12651
Loc: NE,Ohio
do you have any kind of internet security/firewall installed?
what router are you using.
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4786157 - 06/13/18 07:13 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: Rand]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: Rand
do you have any kind of internet security/firewall installed?
what router are you using.


Yes, Windows 7 with firewall enabled. Using a CenturyLink modem.

Top
#4786204 - 06/13/18 08:07 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1421
Loc: USA
The modem-router by default will have all ports open for outgoing connections and all ports closed to incoming connections.

If these are outgoing connections you may need to do something in windows firewall.


Edited by mk378 (06/13/18 08:08 PM)

Top
#4786263 - 06/13/18 09:40 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
spackard Offline


Registered: 03/24/11
Posts: 1716
Loc: CA
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/

More difficult to test outgoing. The way I'd do it is install DU Meter, then look if the software in question is connected to those ports on whatever host(s) Dell runs that the software connects to.
Just difficult to read the "View network connections..." "Open TCP Connections" for non-professionals, or maybe not.

Top
#4786294 - 06/13/18 10:26 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Are these ports controlled in the modem settings? Where is it that they can be enabled or not?

Top
#4786299 - 06/13/18 10:29 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
The software only calls out, and I doubt there is anything blocking those ports outgoing, given the device you are using. Is this the most recent version of the program from the Dell support site? I generally dislike those programs for a variety of reasons, but why do you think you need it?
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4786318 - 06/13/18 11:24 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: OVERKILL]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
The software only calls out, and I doubt there is anything blocking those ports outgoing, given the device you are using. Is this the most recent version of the program from the Dell support site? I generally dislike those programs for a variety of reasons, but why do you think you need it?


Yes, it's the latest version of "Dell SupportAssist". Like said earlier, the previous version worked fine. SupportAssist actually did an auto-update, wasn't my choice - there's probably a setting I can change to make it not auto-update.

SupportAssist is actually kind of handy because it runs based on my specific machine (ie, tag number) and knows if I have outdated drivers, BIOS, etc. It also has a bunch of diagnostic tools for memory, HD, monitor, etc.

I even uninstalled the non-working SupportAssist and went to Dell's website to do a fresh install which looked to go well, but it still doesn't load when I launch it.

Top
#4786506 - 06/14/18 08:46 AM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
BigD1 Offline


Registered: 08/12/15
Posts: 2575
Loc: NC
You really don't need SupportAssist.

You can get all those drivers, bios updates, and etc. from just going to the Dell website, and entering the tag number.

It's been a while since my last Dell. It should have a hidden partition that the Dell software uses to set the machine back to as it came from the factory. My memory is fading on this one, but I recall that it was accessed with a function key. Dell should have instructions on how to recover to factory on their website.

You might have a recovery disk that came with the Dell that has the imaging software/recovery on it.
_________________________
1992 Toyota Pickup--Havoline HM 10W-30--Motorcraft FL-910S

Top
#4786713 - 06/14/18 01:58 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: BigD1]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: BigD1
You really don't need SupportAssist.

You can get all those drivers, bios updates, and etc. from just going to the Dell website, and entering the tag number.


True, I probably don't need half the software on my computer. But I did like some of the features SupportAssist provided.

Originally Posted By: BigD1
It's been a while since my last Dell. It should have a hidden partition that the Dell software uses to set the machine back to as it came from the factory. My memory is fading on this one, but I recall that it was accessed with a function key. Dell should have instructions on how to recover to factory on their website.

You might have a recovery disk that came with the Dell that has the imaging software/recovery on it.


I don't need to recover anything really - got way too many updates, etc on this computer to start from scratch. It's just that the new version of SupportAssist doesn't work on my computer, even though it meets all the requirements for the software to work. I think Dell has an installation bug or code issue going on with the new version since the auto update and my fresh manual installation both don't work.

Top
#4787567 - 06/15/18 03:24 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: spackard]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: spackard
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/


I used that port scanning tool and it says all those ports I listed in my first post were "closed" when the tool is using my "Public IPv4 Address".

So I'm wondering if that's the issue, or is it something else? I would think that the installation program from Dell would check or configure ports that were required.

Top
#4788140 - 06/16/18 09:43 AM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: spackard
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/


I used that port scanning tool and it says all those ports I listed in my first post were "closed" when the tool is using my "Public IPv4 Address".

So I'm wondering if that's the issue, or is it something else? I would think that the installation program from Dell would check or configure ports that were required.


No, those ports are supposed to be closed to the outside world. As long as the software can get OUT, that's what matters, and those tools do not check for that.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4788511 - 06/16/18 07:10 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: ZeeOSix]
Garak Offline


Registered: 12/05/09
Posts: 24620
Loc: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Another great place to check ports and find all kinds of resources is at grc.com.
_________________________
Plain, simple Garak.

2008 Infiniti G37 - Shell ROTELLA T6 Multi-Vehicle 5w-30, NAPA Gold 7356
1984 F-150 4.9L - Quaker State GB 10w-30, Wix 51515

Top
#4788534 - 06/16/18 07:39 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: OVERKILL]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: spackard
If those are incoming ports that need to be open, you can scan yourself with something like:
https://www.whatismyip.com/port-scanner/

I used that port scanning tool and it says all those ports I listed in my first post were "closed" when the tool is using my "Public IPv4 Address".

So I'm wondering if that's the issue, or is it something else? I would think that the installation program from Dell would check or configure ports that were required.

No, those ports are supposed to be closed to the outside world. As long as the software can get OUT, that's what matters, and those tools do not check for that.


How can I tell if ports 5700, 9012, 8883, 8884, 8885 & 8886 are "open" for outgoing?

Top
#4788640 - 06/16/18 09:29 PM Re: Network Ports - How Can I Check Status? [Re: Garak]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 17795
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: Garak
Another great place to check ports and find all kinds of resources is at grc.com.


I went there, and I'm assuming you are talking about their tool called "SheildsUP", the link is located down about 2/3 down from the top of this page: https://www.grc.com/default.htm

I ran most of the SheildsUP tests, and it showed that all my ports are in "Stealth" status. Apparently this means the ports don't show up as "existing" to the outside world ... but I'm not sure if that also means it could be closed, but in a "Stealth" way.

https://www.grc.com/su/portstatusinfo.htm

I also did a custom 'port probe' on ports 5700, 9012, 8883 thru 8886 and all show up as "Stealth".


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >