Planning ahead on winter tires

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just picked up an extra set of factory alloys for my Tundra ,and am researching winter tires . (275/65/18 )
So far I’m interested in the Yokohama IG 51 ,and the Blizzk DMV2 . I’m open to any other tire suggestion that are offered on winter tires for my truck . TIA .

Last edited:
The Nokian Hakka R3 might be what you're looking for, or perhaps the R2 on clearance

The Dunlop Winter Maxx is also a good winter tire

You are a little late but tire shops clear out winter tire stock usually starting in February, maybe a month later depending on where you are, but that's when to buy whatever they have in your size. My last winter tire purchase (for the Miata) was $250 all four corners, mounted and balanced, bought in March '16.

About half the September price (Continental ExtremeWinterContact, an excellent tire and I've been using dedicated winter tires on every vehicle since the early 1990's).

If they sell the General Tire Altimax Arctic in your size that's the best bang for the buck.

As someone else noted, poke around online for clearance priced winters.
I've bought them that way in the past for probably 60-70% off.

Originally Posted By: sloinker
If they sell the General Tire Altimax Arctic in your size that's the best bang for the buck.

Altimax is for passenger cars

Grabber Arctics are for light trucks, SUV's

Originally Posted By: nixon
Just picked up an extra set of factory alloys for my Tundra ,and am researching winter tires . (275/65/18 )
So far I’m interested in the Yokohama IG 51 ,and the Blizzk DMV2 . I’m open to any other tire suggestion that are offered on winter tires for my truck . TIA .