Recent Topics
Mobil Super A Synthetic Blend
by motorguy222
08/19/18 11:39 PM
Walmart Canada: Valvoline Synpower Full Synthetic $28.88 CAN
by Snagglefoot
08/19/18 10:50 PM
Brake light repair?
by pda1122
08/19/18 09:39 PM
Question on late model VW Gas model. Oil Stick O Ring
by Driz
08/19/18 09:38 PM
Do Diff Covers Work Or Are They Just Bling?
by hatt
08/19/18 09:20 PM
Wet brake oil questions. Yamaha Big Bear 400, Prairie 700
by racinjason
08/19/18 09:04 PM
Subwoofer mounting in trunk
by dogememe
08/19/18 08:40 PM
2006 Audi A4 3.2 - Oil Recommendation
by tgdb9
08/19/18 08:30 PM
Weird modifications or car hacks
by 97prizm
08/19/18 08:18 PM
Coolant Question
by Nissan101
08/19/18 08:17 PM
Meijer striking again...
by bullwinkle
08/19/18 07:52 PM
Gumout Regane Complete
by jk_636
08/19/18 07:44 PM
CARQUEST #84060, 7,800 miles CUT OPEN
by car51
08/19/18 06:01 PM
Pro Motive PH 241 CUT OPEN
by car51
08/19/18 05:48 PM
Easy inexpensive fix! Ha!!
by tomcat27
08/19/18 05:14 PM
Grand Cherokee rear suspension issues
by Bandito440
08/19/18 05:08 PM
trans pan gasket leaking
by ugabulldog
08/19/18 04:17 PM
Bugs Attracted To Garage Window
by Warstud
08/19/18 03:44 PM
Savants: I live near one of these wonderful people
by car51
08/19/18 03:27 PM
'94 Grand Am 3.1L Backfire DTC 77 History
by benjamming
08/19/18 02:37 PM
Newest Members
CHHBadkarma, Lynniecee, KeithSalmon, Camaro_Noah, Climb2FL350
65755 Registered Users
Who's Online
50 registered (Billbert, 1medic, 4WD, Atesz792, bdcardinal, Aero540T, 5 invisible), 1072 Guests and 35 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65755 Members
67 Forums
289004 Topics
4820145 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4784795 - 06/12/18 11:27 AM Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts?
ziggy Offline


Registered: 08/08/05
Posts: 1505
Loc: stamford, CT
Hi all! Time for new struts,98 buick lesabre.I've done struts,before,never used a torque wrench. Watching some YouTube vids last night, front struts,they used a big torque wrench,for the 2 bolts,bottom end of struts. 140 ft.lbs. I figured,use use a breaker bar, socket,and tighten till it won't tighten no more. Would that work,or torque wrench mandatory?

Top
#4784798 - 06/12/18 11:31 AM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
SirTanon Offline


Registered: 06/23/14
Posts: 2347
Loc: Phoenix, Arizona - USA
Mandatory? No..

.. but I would HIGHLY recommend you use one. You don't mess with suspension components.
_________________________
2010 Ford Fusion SE - 2.5 liter/6F35 Trans - 260,000mi
2014 Nissan Altima SL - 2.5 liter/CVT - 55,000mi

Top
#4784803 - 06/12/18 11:36 AM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
AVB Offline


Registered: 05/20/12
Posts: 1391
Loc: Georgia
A pull handle will be fine, I use a impact.

Top
#4784808 - 06/12/18 11:47 AM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 19649
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Originally Posted By: ziggy
I figured,use use a breaker bar, socket,and tighten till it won't tighten no more. Would that work,or torque wrench mandatory?


140 ft.lb isn't as much as you think, you can easily put over 250 ft.lb on a 24" breaker bar. Use a TW, experienced feel has its place ham fisted does not.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#4784811 - 06/12/18 11:51 AM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
ziggy Offline


Registered: 08/08/05
Posts: 1505
Loc: stamford, CT
I've done struts before,no issues...just made me think,what if,you know? I've always used a breaker bar,socket,tighten till it won't tighten anymore,than give a good 1/4 too half turn..

Top
#4784814 - 06/12/18 11:55 AM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
maxdustington Online   content


Registered: 01/21/17
Posts: 1052
Loc: Toronna
If they are pinch bolts just crank them with the breaker bar, or impact. A few impact pulses probably puts it around there? Rust will help keep it tight, lol.

What you should really have the TW for is the nut on top of the strut that connects it to the strut mount. On my car, you need special tools to torque it. I never do and feel guilty afterwards.


Edited by maxdustington (06/12/18 11:57 AM)
_________________________
03 Jetta AWP/09A 200k kms
Edge 0W40 + Mann 719/30

Top
#4784822 - 06/12/18 12:01 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
The Critic Offline


Registered: 08/30/04
Posts: 19929
Loc: CA
I recommend impacting to spec, which means holding down the trigger until the bolt stops turning. wink
_________________________
2011 Toyota Prius - 170k - ServicePro Dexos 0W-20
2007 Honda Accord 2.4 - 129K - Idemitsu 5W-20

Top
#4784825 - 06/12/18 12:04 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: The Critic]
bdcardinal Online   content


Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 11194
Loc: Santa Barbara, CA
Originally Posted By: The Critic
I recommend impacting to spec, which means holding down the trigger until the bolt stops turning. wink


Exactly one brap.

But in all seriousness, use a torque wrench.
_________________________
2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.

Top
#4784833 - 06/12/18 12:12 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
andyd Offline


Registered: 09/25/04
Posts: 7452
Loc: Marshfield , MA
Exactly one brap When Charlie worked on his'47 chain drive Sterling he used "creaks" grin2
_________________________
'16 Camry LE STP synth 0w20 and STP filter. the Fridge

1994 Ranger ,the Rat, 5w30 dino, STP filter

'16 Camry SE, Valvoline HM 0w20 and OEM filter
Thick oil is better grin2

Top
#4784837 - 06/12/18 12:17 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
Snagglefoot Online   content


Registered: 12/31/17
Posts: 2093
Loc: SE British Columbia, Canada
If it goes to "crack" it's too much. A torque wrench can be had for $50.


Edited by Snagglefoot (06/12/18 12:27 PM)

Top
#4784852 - 06/12/18 12:34 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
ziggy Offline


Registered: 08/08/05
Posts: 1505
Loc: stamford, CT
It's the bottom 2 bolts,not the top end ones,front of struts. Oh!those 2 boltd..are they also,the camber bolts? Be also known as clevis bolts.might wanna get 4 new ones.

Top
#4784935 - 06/12/18 02:19 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
Imp4 Offline


Registered: 04/06/18
Posts: 340
Loc: Somewhere in time
AZ, Advanced, or O'Reilly's has loaners you can use for free.
Check back on my previous posts to see how you can validate calibration with a bench vise and free weight.

There is no reason not to do this right.

_________________________
2001 Mitsubishi Galant 2.4 - 157k+
Grandma's creampuff...

Top
#4784945 - 06/12/18 02:24 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
slacktide_bitog Offline


Registered: 03/20/08
Posts: 6585
Loc: USA
You don't really need to, but a torque wrench is like $10-20 at Harbor Freight smile

Top
#4784973 - 06/12/18 03:08 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: slacktide_bitog]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 19649
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Better than attacking it with a breaker bar till it wont go any tighter or it breaks and he ends up on his arse breaker bar, socket, broken bolt and all.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#4785111 - 06/12/18 05:46 PM Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 32907
Loc: ME
Those bottom bolts are massively huge, way bigger than lug studs. I give them serious beans. If you have camber slots in your new struts the friction/clamping force of those bolts is the only thing holding your alignment kosher.

Break them loose with your breaker bar and develop the muscle memory of that event.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >