Recent Topics
Sears Files for Bankruptcy
by E365. 10/15/18 12:45 AM
Filing for divorce
by barkingspider. 10/14/18 11:46 PM
10 AC Delco PF48 Oil Filters
by stchman. 10/14/18 10:32 PM
Steering shaft
by buck91. 10/14/18 10:03 PM
Top end teardown 73 Bonneville
by jayg. 10/14/18 08:35 PM
DIY - Time Sert Oil Pan Thread Repair
by JHZR2. 10/14/18 08:12 PM
Suggestions for hardly driven tow vehicle
by Silver. 10/14/18 07:40 PM
When to do winter prep detail?
by mclasser. 10/14/18 07:34 PM
Supertech or Mag1 in 2012 Corolla?
by Corollaman. 10/14/18 06:45 PM
NEW NAPA GOLD 1516 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 10/14/18 05:20 PM
using Star Tron concentratefor E10-yea or nea
by umungus1122. 10/14/18 05:00 PM
BEETS: love them or hate them?
by 53' Stude. 10/14/18 04:29 PM
STP S4967 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 10/14/18 03:48 PM
Medical equipment question
by 53' Stude. 10/14/18 03:36 PM
Cabin air filters
by Donald. 10/14/18 03:16 PM
VIRGIN ST 4386 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 10/14/18 02:58 PM
Its a good time to be alive.
by joegreen. 10/14/18 02:12 PM
Toro mower on CL
by Donald. 10/14/18 02:01 PM
Newest Members
Shreddedd, MrAdamF1, Jcnbs, teddd, Mele4nyc
66212 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
26 registered members (BlakeB, emod, earlyre, Ducked, DoubleWasp, 2 invisible), 818 guests, and 30 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics291,984
Posts4,871,914
Members66,212
Most Online2,430
Oct 14th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? #4784795
06/12/18 11:27 AM
06/12/18 11:27 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,507
stamford, CT
ziggy Offline OP
ziggy  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,507
stamford, CT
Hi all! Time for new struts,98 buick lesabre.I've done struts,before,never used a torque wrench. Watching some YouTube vids last night, front struts,they used a big torque wrench,for the 2 bolts,bottom end of struts. 140 ft.lbs. I figured,use use a breaker bar, socket,and tighten till it won't tighten no more. Would that work,or torque wrench mandatory?

Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784798
06/12/18 11:31 AM
06/12/18 11:31 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,536
Phoenix, Arizona - USA
SirTanon Online content
SirTanon  Online Content
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,536
Phoenix, Arizona - USA
Mandatory? No..

.. but I would HIGHLY recommend you use one. You don't mess with suspension components.


2010 Ford Fusion SE - 2.5 liter/6F35 Trans - 263,000mi
2014 Nissan Altima SL - 2.5 liter/CVT - 58,000mi
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784803
06/12/18 11:36 AM
06/12/18 11:36 AM
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,401
Georgia
AVB Offline
AVB  Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,401
Georgia
A pull handle will be fine, I use a impact.

Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784808
06/12/18 11:47 AM
06/12/18 11:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,077
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,077
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Originally Posted By: ziggy
I figured,use use a breaker bar, socket,and tighten till it won't tighten no more. Would that work,or torque wrench mandatory?


140 ft.lb isn't as much as you think, you can easily put over 250 ft.lb on a 24" breaker bar. Use a TW, experienced feel has its place ham fisted does not.


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784811
06/12/18 11:51 AM
06/12/18 11:51 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,507
stamford, CT
ziggy Offline OP
ziggy  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,507
stamford, CT
I've done struts before,no issues...just made me think,what if,you know? I've always used a breaker bar,socket,tighten till it won't tighten anymore,than give a good 1/4 too half turn..

Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784814
06/12/18 11:55 AM
06/12/18 11:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,500
VW Fanboy Island
maxdustington Offline
maxdustington  Offline
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,500
VW Fanboy Island
If they are pinch bolts just crank them with the breaker bar, or impact. A few impact pulses probably puts it around there? Rust will help keep it tight, lol.

What you should really have the TW for is the nut on top of the strut that connects it to the strut mount. On my car, you need special tools to torque it. I never do and feel guilty afterwards.

Last edited by maxdustington; 06/12/18 11:57 AM.

03 Jetta AWP/09A 205k kms
Edge 0W40 + Mann 719/30
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784822
06/12/18 12:01 PM
06/12/18 12:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 20,022
CA
The Critic Offline
The Critic  Offline
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 20,022
CA
I recommend impacting to spec, which means holding down the trigger until the bolt stops turning. wink


2011 Toyota Prius - 173k - Various 0W-20 (Brew)
2007 Honda Accord 2.4 - 131K - Mobil 1 EP HM 5W-30
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: The Critic] #4784825
06/12/18 12:04 PM
06/12/18 12:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,400
Santa Barbara, CA
bdcardinal Offline
bdcardinal  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,400
Santa Barbara, CA
Originally Posted By: The Critic
I recommend impacting to spec, which means holding down the trigger until the bolt stops turning. wink


Exactly one brap.

But in all seriousness, use a torque wrench.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784833
06/12/18 12:12 PM
06/12/18 12:12 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,586
Marshfield , MA
andyd Offline
andyd  Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,586
Marshfield , MA
Exactly one brap When Charlie worked on his'47 chain drive Sterling he used "creaks" grin2


'16 Camry LE STP synth 0w20 and STP filter. the Fridge

1994 Ranger ,the Rat, 5w30 dino, STP filter

'16 Camry SE, Valvoline HM 0w20 and OEM filter
Thick oil is better grin2
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784837
06/12/18 12:17 PM
06/12/18 12:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 2,462
SE British Columbia, Canada
Snagglefoot Online content
Snagglefoot  Online Content
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 2,462
SE British Columbia, Canada
If it goes to "crack" it's too much. A torque wrench can be had for $50.

Last edited by Snagglefoot; 06/12/18 12:27 PM.

If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784852
06/12/18 12:34 PM
06/12/18 12:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,507
stamford, CT
ziggy Offline OP
ziggy  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,507
stamford, CT
It's the bottom 2 bolts,not the top end ones,front of struts. Oh!those 2 boltd..are they also,the camber bolts? Be also known as clevis bolts.might wanna get 4 new ones.

Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784935
06/12/18 02:19 PM
06/12/18 02:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 415
Somewhere in time
Imp4 Offline
Imp4  Offline
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 415
Somewhere in time
AZ, Advanced, or O'Reilly's has loaners you can use for free.
Check back on my previous posts to see how you can validate calibration with a bench vise and free weight.

There is no reason not to do this right.



2001 Mitsubishi Galant 2.4 - 157k+
Grandma's creampuff...
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4784945
06/12/18 02:24 PM
06/12/18 02:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,972
USA
slacktide_bitog Offline
slacktide_bitog  Offline
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,972
USA
You don't really need to, but a torque wrench is like $10-20 at Harbor Freight smile

Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: slacktide_bitog] #4784973
06/12/18 03:08 PM
06/12/18 03:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,077
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,077
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Better than attacking it with a breaker bar till it wont go any tighter or it breaks and he ends up on his arse breaker bar, socket, broken bolt and all.


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Will I need torque wrench to do strut bolts? [Re: ziggy] #4785111
06/12/18 05:46 PM
06/12/18 05:46 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,238
ME
eljefino Offline
eljefino  Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 33,238
ME
Those bottom bolts are massively huge, way bigger than lug studs. I give them serious beans. If you have camber slots in your new struts the friction/clamping force of those bolts is the only thing holding your alignment kosher.

Break them loose with your breaker bar and develop the muscle memory of that event.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™