Rain-X washer fluid ruins low fluid sensor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Guys,

I've been using the orange Rain-X washer fluid in my vehicles for a year or so now. I just happened to come across a post somewhere about this stuff messing up some guy's low washer fluid sensor. Has anyone here ever had this happen? So far mine seem fine, but I'm thinking about ditching the couple of gallons I have on the shelf and going back to cheap-o fluid. Thoughts?

I heard about Rain-X not playing nice with some Audi fluid sensors. I've been using it on my cars for a few years now without issue.

I found this:

https://www.classaction.org/rain-x-lawsuit

"The maker of Rain-X has been hit with a class action lawsuit alleging it deceived consumers by indicating its windshield washer fluid was suitable for use in all mass-produced vehicles. Consumers have complained that their low-fluid indicator lights wouldn’t shut off after filling their cars with Rain-X – and the lawsuit says this problem stems from the fact that the product isn’t compatible with certain vehicles. According to the suit, Rain-X shouldn’t be used in cars made by:

Volkswagen
Audi
Mini Cooper
BMW
Mercedes Benz
Chrysler

In some cases, consumers have complained that the Rain-X products actually corroded or otherwise damaged their washer fluid sensors – a problem that cost them hundreds of dollars to fix. Unfortunately, the makers of Rain-X are reportedly refusing to cover these costs."

Messed up the sensor on my 2008 Ram truck. It will say low washer fluid with a full tank anytime it is below 45 deg. I haven't used Rain-X for several years now and the sensor is still messed up!