Mobil Super 3000 UOA on 2015 Forester XT (FA20DIT)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello bitog!

This is my first UOA on a Forester XT that I recently acquired from a family member.

Disregard that it says Mobil 1, at first that's what I thought the oil was but I found the service slip from the dealer that says bulk Super 3000 (that's what the dealers in Canada put in). Blackstone actually picked up on that.

The copper has me worried.

I know for a fact that I am a more aggressive driver than the family member that had it the first 50 000 km, could that be a factor?

I put in PP 5w-30 so hopefully the next results will be better.

Any thoughs?

Originally Posted By: Snagglefoot
Was your make up oil really 5.4 quarts?

English isn't my primary language so I might have misunderstood, but I thought make up oil was how much oil I put in the engine for the oil change. Engine capacity is 5.4 quarts

EDIT: after looking other UOA that are all 0, I guess it's how many oil was added between oil change, oups my bad.

Make up oil is 0 in that case.

Last edited:
Pennzoil Platinum 5w-30 is what I put in this time.

I don't feel comfortable changing the oil grade yet as I am still under warranty...

High copper more from oil cooler, not bearing though.
With fuel dilution and high shearing, residual KV is a bit low but 14 ppm Fe at 6700 km is not really that bad.
The oil is through cold winter season and short trips?

Originally Posted By: zeng
High copper more from oil cooler, not bearing though.
With fuel dilution and high shearing, residual KV is a bit low but 14 ppm Fe at 6700 km is not really that bad.
The oil is through cold winter season and short trips?

Yes the oil was used from December to May with a very cold canadian winter.

Work is 3 km away so yes short trips as well

Originally Posted By: jbutch
Pennzoil Platinum 5w-30 is what I put in this time.

I don't feel comfortable changing the oil grade yet as I am still under warranty...