2018 Accord 2.0T Touring Factory Fill

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: ARB1977
Holy moly batman.

All down the drain, now.

Originally Posted By: ARB1977
Holy moly batman.

Typical Honda factory fill. Molybdenum is presumably from assembly lubes.

UOA looks good, but viscosity suggests considerable fuel dilution despite Blackstone’s assertion to the contrary.

Originally Posted By: Brolly
Filled back up Castrol Edge Extended 0w-20 Honda filter
Probably should have high moly in your Honda for a few thousand miles more. Castrol Edge doesn't have the high moly.

mightymousetech, a Honda technician, last year said "I am a dealer tech (20 years with Acura/Honda) every couple years we get another service bulletin from Engineering stating that doing the first oil change early can damage the engine, and we are NOT to change the factory fill early. The factory fill oil is not the issue, it is the high moly assembly lube used they want retained in the oil. Doing the first oil change early can cause hot spots to form in the engine."

So if the issue is go with high moly in Honda new engines for a few thousand miles, then go with Zepro 0w20.
https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ub...lis#Post4768630
or go and get Mazda dealership "Mazda Genuine Motor Oil" which is the same stuff really.
(Note: There are 2 varieties of Zepro 0w20, and both have "high" moly, its just that one has insanely high moly, so either will work fine here.)

If you don't want to go thru the hassle of changing your Castrol out (understandable), then just put in a half-bottle of LiquiMoly Ceratec (napa autoparts; amazon), and that will raise the moly level safely.

Do you think that it might have been a good idea to have left this high moly brew in for maybe double the miles, as Honda used to recommend in the earlier Accords?
Fuel dilution looks to be negligible, which means that it'll be 3X negligible on a normal 15% MM IOLM change.