Got a Stihl MS270C 20" on permanent loan.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Short version: I've been cutting wood for a female friend of mine for about 5 years; I've been very lucky in acquiring free fallen wood from coworkers, a local shop owner, neighbors, etc. I've been using a CS400 18"

Recently the power company went on a massive tree trimming exercise to reduce storm damage and decided to drop a 3.5' diameter ash tree in the lot next to her home; the home owner indicated we could have @ the remnants. The limbs all were removed by the tree trimmers, but they left a 12' x 3.5' trunk on the front lawn and several other 18" logs. Not anything I want to use a 18" saw on. I"m figuring "tons" of wood.

Mentioned this job to a lifelong friend who lives 2 hours away and he said i could have his MS270C 20" on a permanent loan; his residential situation has changed and he has little use for it; the stipulation is I would have to loan it back should he needed it. He dropped it off last Wednesday, and I quickly put it to use on Sunday.

I don't have anything to compare it to except my Echo, but it does have a rapid chain tensioner which is unbelievably convenient and easy to use. I was using a yellow link chain (which i had to learn about) and it seemed to do very well. I am cutting 16" lengths (can't cut all the way thru) and then splitting the pieces into 1/8 or 1/5s using wedges from the ends; quite some exercise.

The only annoyance of epic proportion is the caps for chain oil and gas. For some reason a regular twist cap was too easy and there is a tab release and detent doo hickey which makes filling gas and bar oil a giant chore and prone to error What problem were they trying to solve here? Anyone else have any insight into that?

Echo gas and oil = 15 seconds, Echo bar or chain = 10 minutes
Stihl gas and oil = 10 minutes; Shihl bar or chain 15 seconds.

Anyone have one of these and are there any shortcomings? I seem to read they occasionally have coil issues?