Merc 3.0CRD Oil advice please.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi
I have a 2008 Grand Cherokee with the Merc OM642 Diesel unit in it. I have no DPF fitted, Jeep only fitted them on new model in UK I believe.
My oil spec is 229.51.Will I be ok using any Oil that is Merc approved to 229.51 or is it not as simple as that?
I am looking for ultimate Engine and Turbo protection rather then fuel economy.

What are the ingredients in the oil I should be looking for? Indeed are all 229.51 oils made to the same 'recipe'?

Any suggestions on viscosity range? My handbook calls for a 5w-30. The UK has a relatively moderate climate.

Forgive me if any of my questions are a little naïve but I am just learning and am finding the subject very interesting.

Many thanks.
Tikka.

Last edited:
229.51 has been superseded by 229.52.
Yes any oil with 229.52 certifications will be fine.
Also, 5W-30 would be fine for England.
I had over a hundred OM642s non-DPF in my Sprinter fleet. As well, I recommend only using OE MB oil filters for the engine.
Friend of mine had the exact same JGC as you have. Traded it in as local Jeep dealer was clueless on how to maintain the truck.

Hi Danno
Thanks for helping.
I noticed the 229.52 spec but I wonder when the specs move on for different engines whether they start removing ingredients that may be good for my older engine. Maybe I am over thinking this?

Yes I will only use genuine filters. I read the long thread about these filters on the oil filter section of the forum.

At the moment my Jeep is getting PETRONAS Syntium 5w-30 as fitted by Jeep Dealer.

Diesel Jeeps are by far the most common in UK. Petro ones are rare due to our very high taxes on fuel.

Hi Zeng
Thanks for you help.
I am guessing you guys use a 40 weight due to your hot climate?

I believe 229.52 is identical to 229.51, with the exception of a more stringent fuel economy test. I would stick with 229.51. More options.