Oil Consumption by Design

Status
Not open for further replies.
Some engines, such as volkswagen engines, are famous for consuming oil by design. As much as 1 liter per 1000 mile
smile.gif

My question is, does this theoretically mean less ring tension, thicker oil film at the cylinder wall, thus less wall and piston rings wear ?

Ive seen some high mileage engines with the original hone marks still in the cylinder walls. I dont piston wear is not a problem within warranty period. There must be another reason. The race community burns some oil to make more hp. I wonder if this is what they are doing.

My wife owns an Audi and I own a VW Golf GTI. I need to add 1/2 a quart at the 4K mile mark and I change the oil every 5K miles.
My wifes Audi doesn't consume enough oil to make it worth adding.
I have heard some engines consume oil by design. Sounds silly but who knows?
I'm a semi mechanic and another much older mechanic told me some engines have soft piston rings that seal great
but wear out faster and some engines have harder piston rings that last longer but don't seal as well.

Years ago when I was building a small block Chevy, he told me the cheap Hastings piston rings are great for 60K! thousand miles
and the engine will start burning oil.

Click on the piston rings and learn something:
https://www.hastingspistonrings.com/aftermarket

I think pretty much every modern (post emissions-era) engine burn oil "by design" because it's mandated that oil blow-by can't vent to the atmosphere. A typical emissions setup has the PCV valve connected by a hose to the intake, where blow-by gas (oil vapour from the bottom of the crankcase) burns with the intake charge.