40mpg though EPA quotes 37/38

Status
Not open for further replies.
The EPA numbers are for reference. Climate, driving style and region all play a part in your mileage numbers.

The EPA MPG numbers are there so you can compare vehicles to others in your class.
Also, if you average the two numbers (city & highway), then that is about what you can expect if you drive some city and some highway. Approximately anyway.

The EPA's FTP highway cycle isn't just cruising steady at low-drag speeds like you must have been doing to get over 40 MPG.

Originally Posted By: Miller88
I've never had a (unmodified) vehicle that got EPA rating; everything has always greatly exceeded it.

I am a light driver.

+1

I often show 40 mpg on the car's computer but, every time I read it with my calculator, it's at least 2 gallons lower. My car is EPA'd for city:27/comp:31/hiwy:38. I have actually gotten >40 mpg when I read it but the dash screen showed higher still.

I notice the OP has Kansas as his location. That says a lot right there. Add hills to the equation and see if you get the same mileage.

Originally Posted By: Miller88
I've never had a (unmodified) vehicle that got EPA rating; everything has always greatly exceeded it.

I am a light driver.

Same here

Originally Posted By: PimTac
I notice the OP has Kansas as his location. That says a lot right there. Add hills to the equation and see if you get the same mileage.

My Cruze actually seems to get better mileage through reasonably hilly terrain than over flatlands (aka Illinois).

It's an LT manual which is rated 32/38 IIRC. I've pulled over 40 out of it numerous times on long trips - I think best ever was 41.2, real math. It's legitimately hard for me to get the display number below 35 - my wife (who has put 35K on the car) can't get it over that. Driving style/skill.

Last edited:
2008 Ford F150 Pickup 2WD 8 cyl, 4.6 L, Automatic 4-spd

EPA estimate -
Combined city/highway MPG: 16 (Mine is usually ~17.5)