Kamado Style Smokers

Status
Not open for further replies.
A few friends recently picked up a Kamado style smoker and I am somewhat interested in starting a new hobby in this area.

Any thoughts/recommendations on the various options available? I am mainly looking at the Big Green Egg and the Kamado Joe Classic II. At the moment, I am leaning towards the Kamado Joe Classic II since Costco will be having the road show in our area next month.

I've been smoking with a BGE for a little over two years now. I went with a BGE because I have an excellent local hardware store that stocks just about everything. Super convenient if I need to pick up any accessories or I want to see something before I buy. The store previously stocked Kamado Joe, but was in the process of changing their product lines just about the time I purchased.

Speaking of accessories, if you're going to be doing any type of smoking, buy a BBQ Guru or Flame Boss temperature controller. It makes temp control a total no-brainer. Doing a brisket, I'll walk away from mine for 16 hours and it'll hold 225 degrees like a rock. They are worth every dollar.

You'll want to stick with lump charcoal; Regular charcoal briquettes make too much ash. I typically use the little waxed cardboard starters. They work well if it's not windy. If it is windy, a little help from a propane torch gets things going.