Goodbye Encore, hello Soul!

Status
Not open for further replies.
My '14 Buick Encore was pushing 100K when it was hit-- both front quarter panels, hood, grill. Just found out less than two days ago that it was totaled. $11,000! Even the insurance appraiser was floored by parts cost, he anticipated about five grand before pricing. Grill alone from a third party was well over a thou. Maybe prices are going up in anticipation of tariffs--who knows?

We're leaving for a cruise out of Galveston early next week. Planned on driving, thought I'd have a rental car. One or two days to pull the trigger on a purchase and I had a doctor's appointment in the afternoon, so I did something I've never done before. Went to Hertz and gave 'em $14.2 for a 2017 Kia Soul+ with 38K. Had I extra time I'm sure I could have done better with a private transaction, but I needed a car, no time to haggle. Something I hope never happens again.

Some thoughts after driving car last evening:

Compared to the Encore, the Soul is short on electronics. Has Sirius/XM (think I get three months and can transfer my account) and bluetooth but lacks GM's OLM, instant mileage indicator, tire pressure indicators, all of which I found useful. Doing some light, mixed, driving my mpg was running at 30 mpg. I reset the indicator (not reset for ??? and it was showing 11! I guess people beat the [censored] out of rental cars but who would want to pay for gas at that rate? The Soul and Encore were on my finals chart last time and chose the Encore because it seemed much airier and open. Got used to the smaller windshield in the Soul in no time at all.