Recent Topics
Teflon tape vs. paste
by dlundblad
Today at 04:13 AM
Shelf life of various fluids?
by Chris B.
Today at 03:56 AM
Shelf life of unopened/opened oil?
by Chris B.
Today at 03:49 AM
Is there a search or filter option?
by MellieK
Today at 01:32 AM
The Cuban Sandwich
by BlueOvalFitter
Today at 12:46 AM
Can't decide...but I need another pal
by Marco620
Today at 12:36 AM
We Will Remember Them.
by Silk
Today at 12:28 AM
Venezuela Arrests US Chevron Employees for Treason
by Nyogtha
Yesterday at 11:19 PM
Classwork, Homework, and Exam
by Shannow
Yesterday at 09:50 PM
Hydroflouric Acid as Aluminum cleaner,deoxidizer
by daves66nova
Yesterday at 09:10 PM
I asked Valvoline about Seq IVA
by Carbon12
Yesterday at 08:42 PM
Motor teardown?
by Sealbilly
Yesterday at 08:09 PM
Oil bath air filter
by preaction
Yesterday at 07:57 PM
Volvo Safety - Do You Still Get What You Pay For?
by Best F100
Yesterday at 07:36 PM
Is Quaker State a dying brand?
by Isophix
Yesterday at 07:34 PM
Somewhat amusing Cisco bug
by OVERKILL
Yesterday at 07:34 PM
Slight shift flare when cold
by SilverFusion2010
Yesterday at 06:40 PM
Broken Side Window, 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan
by DeafBrad
Yesterday at 06:36 PM
220v socket installed for car charger
by 14Accent
Yesterday at 06:12 PM
Napa full synthetic 5qt jugs $18.99
by JTK
Yesterday at 04:32 PM
Newest Members
Burrito97, micatx, JamesTheBok, TPD1, macedon
64842 Registered Users
Who's Online
38 registered (Barbell7, bradepb, billt460, BlueOvalFitter, 2015_PSD, Bookmaker, 1 invisible), 1011 Guests and 30 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
64842 Members
68 Forums
282304 Topics
4712990 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#4721941 - 04/09/18 05:43 PM Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1?
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3645
Loc: los angeles
I just got frontier FIOS, 100mbs.I previously had Charter, at 64 a month, now went to Frontier at 38 a month. So which box is better?
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4721958 - 04/09/18 06:03 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 35565
Loc: Great Lakes
Do you require a coax connection or not? NVG468MQ is an internet gateway with a coax input. RT-N12 D1 is just a router - no coax input.
_________________________
'02 530i (Edge HM 10W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#4721964 - 04/09/18 06:05 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
ruhroh Offline


Registered: 12/11/16
Posts: 100
Loc: NC
I hope I'm not missing something, but one's a modem+router and the other is just a router. If you're just asking for the router function, I've always liked using a separate router but if you have AC-capable devices, may as well just use the provided combo gateway/router. I think Asus routers have easy to use user interface though and timely firmware updates; no experience with Arris combos.

Top
#4721977 - 04/09/18 06:17 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
BlueOvalFitter Online   content


Registered: 02/28/03
Posts: 5753
Loc: Cajun Country, La.
Quite honestly, what I have read in this thread, to me, it's like reading something ALIEN! But, I do own an ASUS router, in which I think is doing a good job. And, I only paid $39.98 for it from AMAZON. The modem I use is a MOTOROLA surf something (??????). I bought it on clearance at WM for $15. The SUDDENLINK tech. even said it was an excellent setup for the internet speed I am getting from SL (20-30 MBPS?).
_________________________
2007 F150 XL, 4.2 V6, 4R75E Transmission
Pennzoil Platinum Euro 0W40, WIX 51516 XP Oil Filter
"One Filter, One OCI!"

USA

Top
#4721980 - 04/09/18 06:21 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12494
Loc: NE,Ohio
The arris is much better that model of asus is very old design/model.

You would want an netgear r6700 for an upgrade from the gateway wifi(arris)

As mentioned one doesnt replace the other. you would still need the arris gateway as a cable modem.

Do you have a phone through them as well?
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4722009 - 04/09/18 06:47 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
Subdued Offline


Registered: 10/06/13
Posts: 759
Loc: Youngstown, NY
You should be asking Frontier this question.
_________________________
2015 Jeep Cherokee 18k
2008 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 149k
2007 Toyota Yaris S 170k


Top
#4722242 - 04/09/18 10:14 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1332
Loc: USA
The OP has FIOS not cable. The coaxial cable connection on the Arris box is an output for IPTV boxes. This is the MoCA system for short-distance (inside one house) networking over coaxial cable. Providers like this system since many homes have existing coaxial cable installed to where the TV sets are, but not UTP Ethernet cable.

The RT-N12 is not suitable for 100Mb ISP speed. If you're going to use your own router you need something faster.

If you don't need the MoCA network or the analog phone outputs, you can replace the Arris completely with a generic router.


Edited by mk378 (04/09/18 10:17 PM)

Top
#4722264 - 04/09/18 10:31 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: Quattro Pete]
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3645
Loc: los angeles
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Do you require a coax connection or not? NVG468MQ is an internet gateway with a coax input. RT-N12 D1 is just a router - no coax input.
Yes, I do have a coax now, but it first connects to a small Arris box with part no. 6000069-001-000 Model id is MEB1100,it then connects to NVG468MQ with an ethernet cable and a usb cable.
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4722265 - 04/09/18 10:33 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: Rand]
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3645
Loc: los angeles
Originally Posted By: Rand


Do you have a phone through them as well?
I have Ooma, no phone service through them and no tv service either.
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4722266 - 04/09/18 10:35 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: Subdued]
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3645
Loc: los angeles
Originally Posted By: Subdued
You should be asking Frontier this question.
I'd thought i'd ask the more knowledgeable people here first that have had experience with this .
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#4722267 - 04/09/18 10:37 PM Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1332
Loc: USA
There is another box the ONT. It is usually on the outside of the house. Their fiber goes in, and what comes out can be either coax or Ethernet. If coax comes out of the ONT, the MEB is used to convert it to Ethernet. If you use your own router with only Ethernet input as most of them do, you would need to either run an Ethernet cable out to the ONT, or keep the MEB.

The USB connection to the MEB is likely only to supply it with power.


Edited by mk378 (04/09/18 10:39 PM)

Top