Recent Topics
Adding fuel filter- Generator built with no filter
by rubberchicken. 09/23/18 09:57 PM
Clutch Engaging too low
by Spetz. 09/23/18 09:41 PM
SMA - Krown previously, Fluid Film Application
by StevieC. 09/23/18 09:21 PM
First Paint Correction
by RayCJ. 09/23/18 08:33 PM
2011 Dodge Caliber
by dogememe. 09/23/18 07:48 PM
Mixing transmission fluids - partial change
by spk2000. 09/23/18 07:31 PM
Counterfeit MANN filter???
by IllinoisSparky. 09/23/18 06:54 PM
The smell of an oil: VME adds?
by fdcg27. 09/23/18 06:48 PM
Classic road brake pads
by buck91. 09/23/18 06:18 PM
Air up your vehicle's tires
by Papa Bear. 09/23/18 06:07 PM
A cool litttle Fall foliage site
by Papa Bear. 09/23/18 06:02 PM
Suggestion: "Likes"
by SnowDrifter. 09/23/18 05:36 PM
Condensation in headlights?
by irv. 09/23/18 05:06 PM
Nissan VQ V-6 Engines
by Al. 09/23/18 04:57 PM
List of dexos licensed oils?
by k1xv. 09/23/18 04:24 PM
High flow oil pump? Thinner oil?
by SnowDrifter. 09/23/18 04:06 PM
Is Tiger back?
by gman2304. 09/23/18 03:51 PM
Newest Members
Lilshady, SevenDu, sigpro, RayCJ, yellow97tt6spd
66055 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
42 registered members (asiancivicmaniac, Bailes1992, BlakeB, bdcardinal, Blkstanger, ammolab, 5 invisible), 1,241 guests, and 37 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics290,917
Posts4,852,489
Members66,055
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? #4721941
04/09/18 05:43 PM
04/09/18 05:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
I just got frontier FIOS, 100mbs.I previously had Charter, at 64 a month, now went to Frontier at 38 a month. So which box is better?


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4721958
04/09/18 06:03 PM
04/09/18 06:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,304
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,304
Great Lakes
Do you require a coax connection or not? NVG468MQ is an internet gateway with a coax input. RT-N12 D1 is just a router - no coax input.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4721964
04/09/18 06:05 PM
04/09/18 06:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 114
NC
ruhroh Offline
ruhroh  Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 114
NC
I hope I'm not missing something, but one's a modem+router and the other is just a router. If you're just asking for the router function, I've always liked using a separate router but if you have AC-capable devices, may as well just use the provided combo gateway/router. I think Asus routers have easy to use user interface though and timely firmware updates; no experience with Arris combos.

Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4721977
04/09/18 06:17 PM
04/09/18 06:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6,003
Cajun Country, La.
BlueOvalFitter Offline
BlueOvalFitter  Offline
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 6,003
Cajun Country, La.
Quite honestly, what I have read in this thread, to me, it's like reading something ALIEN! But, I do own an ASUS router, in which I think is doing a good job. And, I only paid $39.98 for it from AMAZON. The modem I use is a MOTOROLA surf something (??????). I bought it on clearance at WM for $15. The SUDDENLINK tech. even said it was an excellent setup for the internet speed I am getting from SL (20-30 MBPS?).

Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4721980
04/09/18 06:21 PM
04/09/18 06:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,901
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,901
NE,Ohio
The arris is much better that model of asus is very old design/model.

You would want an netgear r6700 for an upgrade from the gateway wifi(arris)

As mentioned one doesnt replace the other. you would still need the arris gateway as a cable modem.

Do you have a phone through them as well?


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4722009
04/09/18 06:47 PM
04/09/18 06:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 797
Youngstown, NY
Subdued Offline
Subdued  Offline
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 797
Youngstown, NY
You should be asking Frontier this question.


2015 Jeep Cherokee 18k
2008 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 149k
2007 Toyota Yaris S 170k

Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4722242
04/09/18 10:14 PM
04/09/18 10:14 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,529
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,529
USA
The OP has FIOS not cable. The coaxial cable connection on the Arris box is an output for IPTV boxes. This is the MoCA system for short-distance (inside one house) networking over coaxial cable. Providers like this system since many homes have existing coaxial cable installed to where the TV sets are, but not UTP Ethernet cable.

The RT-N12 is not suitable for 100Mb ISP speed. If you're going to use your own router you need something faster.

If you don't need the MoCA network or the analog phone outputs, you can replace the Arris completely with a generic router.

Last edited by mk378; 04/09/18 10:17 PM.
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: Quattro Pete] #4722264
04/09/18 10:31 PM
04/09/18 10:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Do you require a coax connection or not? NVG468MQ is an internet gateway with a coax input. RT-N12 D1 is just a router - no coax input.
Yes, I do have a coax now, but it first connects to a small Arris box with part no. 6000069-001-000 Model id is MEB1100,it then connects to NVG468MQ with an ethernet cable and a usb cable.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: Rand] #4722265
04/09/18 10:33 PM
04/09/18 10:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
Originally Posted By: Rand


Do you have a phone through them as well?
I have Ooma, no phone service through them and no tv service either.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: Subdued] #4722266
04/09/18 10:35 PM
04/09/18 10:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
daves66nova Offline OP
daves66nova  Offline OP
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,662
los angeles
Originally Posted By: Subdued
You should be asking Frontier this question.
I'd thought i'd ask the more knowledgeable people here first that have had experience with this .


THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.
Re: Which is better,ARRIS NVG468MQ or Asus RT-N12 D1? [Re: daves66nova] #4722267
04/09/18 10:37 PM
04/09/18 10:37 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,529
USA
mk378 Offline
mk378  Offline
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,529
USA
There is another box the ONT. It is usually on the outside of the house. Their fiber goes in, and what comes out can be either coax or Ethernet. If coax comes out of the ONT, the MEB is used to convert it to Ethernet. If you use your own router with only Ethernet input as most of them do, you would need to either run an Ethernet cable out to the ONT, or keep the MEB.

The USB connection to the MEB is likely only to supply it with power.

Last edited by mk378; 04/09/18 10:39 PM.

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™