Recent Topics
Pennzoil conventional oil meets api sn plus
by chris_84. 10/18/18 11:45 PM
TGMO in new Honda turbos?
by BTLew81. 10/18/18 11:26 PM
'02 Explorer Sport Trac: 302k mile update
by 14Accent. 10/18/18 10:43 PM
BMW 335 Quick Coolant Change
by antonmnster. 10/18/18 09:58 PM
190k miles
by Marco620. 10/18/18 09:56 PM
tire rotation/jack location
by mobilaltima. 10/18/18 09:23 PM
Apparently I'm not allowed to...
by BMWTurboDzl. 10/18/18 08:41 PM
2014 Cruze 2.0, AMSOIL DHD 7k miles 68k total
by Rat407. 10/18/18 08:32 PM
Stabilizer needed for 5-6 month storage?
by Quattro Pete. 10/18/18 08:29 PM
Clearance ST filter cut open
by barkingspider. 10/18/18 07:56 PM
0W20 Required for Jeep Auto Stop/Start
by harbor. 10/18/18 05:42 PM
School buses + Colder Temps = MPG Nosedive
by RayCJ. 10/18/18 05:20 PM
Meguiars Wax
by dslofti. 10/18/18 04:41 PM
New Ariens Snow Blower Advice
by gathermewool. 10/18/18 04:35 PM
Sunsong Power Steering Hoses
by The Critic. 10/18/18 04:10 PM
Newest Members
Whyssosseriouss, TNflash, The74impala, Ryan1122, ston123
66244 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
51 registered members (bamorris2, aquariuscsm, badduxx, alphadog, 10WSmuckers, ammolab, 4 invisible), 1,197 guests, and 38 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics292,160
Posts4,875,127
Members66,244
Most Online2,494
Oct 17th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Torque Wrench Question #4720742
04/08/18 04:56 PM
04/08/18 04:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 675
Mississippi
TheLawnRanger Online content OP
TheLawnRanger  Online Content OP
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 675
Mississippi
I forgot to set my torque wrench back to zero overnight. I set it back early the next morning. Would this be enough to mess up the calibration?


'99 Cavalier 5w 30 SuperTech conventional
'11 Impala 5w 30 Magnatec full synthetic
'12 Colorado 5w 30 Magnatec full synthetic
*regular Wix oil filters for all
Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4720744
04/08/18 04:58 PM
04/08/18 04:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,852
Illinois
tig1 Offline
tig1  Offline
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 13,852
Illinois
No.


2007 Ford Fusion 232,000 miles
M1 0-20 EP
2017 Ford Fusion 58K
M1 0-20 EP
10,000 mile OCIs on both engines
M1 ATF and MC LV
M1 10-30 in all OPE
MC filters

Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4720749
04/08/18 05:01 PM
04/08/18 05:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,963
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,963
NE,Ohio
No, one of mine says to keep it on its lowest setting not to set to 0.(which was news to me)


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: Rand] #4720760
04/08/18 05:17 PM
04/08/18 05:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,006
USA
slacktide_bitog Offline
slacktide_bitog  Offline
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,006
USA
Originally Posted By: Rand
No, one of mine says to keep it on its lowest setting not to set to 0.(which was news to me)


approved

The Harbor Freight torque wrenches say to do this

Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4720762
04/08/18 05:22 PM
04/08/18 05:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 675
Mississippi
TheLawnRanger Online content OP
TheLawnRanger  Online Content OP
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 675
Mississippi
I keep it at the lowest setting which I think is zero with the tension loosened.


'99 Cavalier 5w 30 SuperTech conventional
'11 Impala 5w 30 Magnatec full synthetic
'12 Colorado 5w 30 Magnatec full synthetic
*regular Wix oil filters for all
Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4720792
04/08/18 05:44 PM
04/08/18 05:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,406
USA
SOHCman Offline
SOHCman  Offline
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,406
USA
taking it down to zero or at least the lower 10% of the range is best practice.


I urge people not to wait 100K to change out the fluid in their transfer case units. -Kestas
Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4721070
04/08/18 11:25 PM
04/08/18 11:25 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 2,093
Saskatchewan, Canada
Johnny2Bad Offline
Johnny2Bad  Offline
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 2,093
Saskatchewan, Canada
As everyone says, don't fret over it, and a little above zero.

If you are really worried about it ... some people are that way ... you can take it to a machine shop and have them (re-)calibrate it, it's a simple job, won't cost much. Were it me, I'd wait a couple of years and do it then, though.

Worst thing you can do is drop it. (Even then you are probably OK, depending, but not for certain). Keep in in the case when not in use.


'57 FL Straight 50 wt
'90 Miata 1.8L w/Rotrex Supercharger [Mobil1 0W-40]
'96 Ram 1500 [3.7L Mobil1 0W-20 / 1L 15W-50]
'01 PT Cruiser [Mobil1 0W-40]
Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4721269
04/09/18 08:21 AM
04/09/18 08:21 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Connecticut, USA
bmwpowere36m3 Offline
bmwpowere36m3  Offline
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Connecticut, USA
We keep them at 20% of scale at work (aerospace). At home I've kept anywhere from 0 to 20%, it doesn't really matter. I also send them out once in a while for calibration.

Some wrenches shouldn't not be brought down to zero or below their scale (mechanism inside will loosen), other is won't matter, and even others will have a stop to prevent you from backing off too much.

Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: bmwpowere36m3] #4721304
04/09/18 08:58 AM
04/09/18 08:58 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,106
MA, Mittelfranken.de
Trav Offline
Trav  Offline
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 20,106
MA, Mittelfranken.de
That's why I use split beams you don't have to do anything with them after using it.


ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.
Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4722426
04/10/18 07:12 AM
04/10/18 07:12 AM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,375
MI
doitmyself Offline
doitmyself  Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,375
MI
Sturdevant Richmont presents an argument that "some" torque wrench designs will allow the wrench to become uncalibrated if set to zero and all spring pressure is relieved.

http://www.srtorque.com/error-proofing-t...-quality-score/

"When taking pressure off the spring, the design may allow the wrench to relieve pressure on the torque block. This can allow the torque block to disorient, shift. Some wrenches can be set to zero pressure on the spring or have the handle further away from the spring. Not only can the torque block disorient, it can even fall out of place in the wrench.

If the torque block disorients, calibration is lost. Repeatability becomes an issue because the block no longer functions as designed. Typically in the tilt block design, the block itself is not square. That means when the tilt block is reoriented and is on it's side, the torque value has changed without you knowlege."

Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: TheLawnRanger] #4722446
04/10/18 07:41 AM
04/10/18 07:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 30,608
NY
demarpaint Offline
demarpaint  Offline
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 30,608
NY
I have an Craftsman Digitorque Wrench and it says to keep it set to 25% capacity. If accidentally left above 50% for more than a few hours set the wrench to the lowest setting and leave it here for a few minutes before using it. Calibration should be checked after 10,000 cycles. I've had this wrench since the early 90's and it is still accurate, checking it against a beam style wrench.


God Bless Our Troops

Re: Torque Wrench Question [Re: Trav] #4722754
04/10/18 01:14 PM
04/10/18 01:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,928
Chicago, IL
EdwardC Online content
EdwardC  Online Content
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,928
Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: Trav
That's why I use split beams you don't have to do anything with them after using it.

Yep, split beam is the way to go for anything I need torqued!


BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™