Recent Topics
New car wax score
by Marco620. 01/16/19 02:42 PM
Bought a used Cherokee Trailhawk
by Sunnyinhollister. 01/16/19 02:34 PM
Air Fryer....whose got'em?
by Schmoe. 01/16/19 01:59 PM
ebates - anyone a member?
by Papa Bear. 01/16/19 01:29 PM
Ordered a 2019 X5 for the Wife
by gofast182. 01/16/19 12:48 PM
Today, I ride
by SirTanon. 01/16/19 12:02 PM
2019 Nissan Rogue SL
by JTK. 01/16/19 11:19 AM
Does GM oil life monitor % go down without driving?
by Corollaman. 01/16/19 10:37 AM
Ford tire wear issues?
by Redright9. 01/16/19 10:23 AM
New Battery
by CarlGR. 01/16/19 10:21 AM
It's January and I Need My Motorcycling "Therapy" !!
by LoneRanger. 01/16/19 10:13 AM
Are New Vehicles Too Expensive?
by SubLGT. 01/16/19 10:02 AM
Manual transmission fluid in Europe for Mazda
by zsero. 01/16/19 07:31 AM
Affected by the gov't shutdown?
by xBa380. 01/16/19 07:04 AM
Opinion Needed / 1998 Olds 88
by Mark72. 01/16/19 06:24 AM
Chevron Supreme color change
by OilUzer. 01/16/19 05:14 AM
Dual exhaust benefits
by OilUzer. 01/16/19 03:02 AM
M1 0w40
by Pinoak. 01/16/19 01:55 AM
M1 0w40
by Pinoak. 01/16/19 01:51 AM
Newest Members
VV03, Witchipoo, Durco1977, ConnorM, dkar26
66950 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
128 registered members (97f150, 4WD, 28oz, 53' Stude, 2004tdigls, 12 invisible), 2,255 guests, and 33 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics296,645
Posts4,956,557
Members66,950
Most Online2,577
Jan 14th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
How to get my new wifi to show my location?? #4720454
04/08/18 10:11 AM
04/08/18 10:11 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 511
Hill Country TX
daddi Offline OP
daddi  Offline OP
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 511
Hill Country TX

I have been at my new house for almost 3 months now. For some reason my internet and wifi will not show my geographic location.

Specifically anything that uses wifi will either not show a location at all or show a location 8-10 miles from me.

If you were to bring your wifi only ipad to my house and hit the map icon, it would not show my location, just have the spinning wheel.

If you brought your laptop and logged into Google maps, it would show different locations. It might be a couple miles off or 10 miles off.

If I'm outside with my Iphone it will be accurate with its GPS. Just not on wifi.


Any ideas on how I can tell my internet where my correct location is?? Have been trying to find help on this online but no answers.

Tom

Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720458
04/08/18 10:15 AM
04/08/18 10:15 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,035
IL
Vern_in_IL Offline
Vern_in_IL  Offline
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,035
IL
it's how your telco does things, my location is in the middle of my Zip code. Which is a good thing.

Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720475
04/08/18 10:33 AM
04/08/18 10:33 AM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 6,926
...
PimTac Offline
PimTac  Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 6,926
...
On the Apple Maps, there is a way to fix your location. Give your location a name and save it in maps. This will be the wrong location at first but save it anyway. Then Select your location and in the menu there should be a “edit location” selection. Use that to fix your location properly. That also sends a report to Apple who will reset it. It usually takes a few months so be patient.

I had the same issue and Amazon had problems as well until one of their delivery guys called it in on his device while standing in the driveway. They were able to adjust it right away.


Cannot see signatures any longer so it doesn’t matter.
Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720523
04/08/18 11:35 AM
04/08/18 11:35 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,217
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,217
NE,Ohio
you cant tell your internet anything..

its possible you can fix a home location manually depending on app/device etc.


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720598
04/08/18 01:16 PM
04/08/18 01:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 542
Texas (south)
FermeLaPorte Offline
FermeLaPorte  Offline
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 542
Texas (south)
It is pre-determined by your provider. Best thing you can do is to have your phone locate you and then set that as your location on Google Maps. That's how I did it. Otherwise I would be located 3 miles from my home lol


Always Mobil 1
2014 1.6L Nissan Versa Sedan, 5 spd, 5k OCI.
2011 3.5L Chevrolet Impala, Automatic, 5k OCI.
Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: FermeLaPorte] #4720637
04/08/18 01:56 PM
04/08/18 01:56 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 511
Hill Country TX
daddi Offline OP
daddi  Offline OP
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 511
Hill Country TX
Thanks for all the answers. I've never had wifi that showed a incorrect location.

Seems like now a lot of the web sites want to know your location for directions to the nearest store etc.

I also use a lot of weather apps that want to show your location for weather radar etc.


BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™