Recent Topics
Only in Canada?
by StevieC. 10/21/18 09:02 PM
Subaru Ascent and Boxer Engine
by Snagglefoot. 10/21/18 08:18 PM
5 Homemade Helicopters that Failed
by Linctex. 10/21/18 08:10 PM
Black Plastic Trim Restorer
by Wrenchturner44. 10/21/18 07:50 PM
CASTROL 0W40 5qt. No More ?
by Kjmack. 10/21/18 06:55 PM
Grocery shopping: where do you shop?
by 53' Stude. 10/21/18 06:45 PM
Scotty - Marvel Mystery Oil
by StevieC. 10/21/18 06:41 PM
Engine Flush at 50k miles
by ZraHamilton. 10/21/18 06:09 PM
Cold pour test
by 53' Stude. 10/21/18 04:25 PM
High lift blades for Toro Timemaster
by Donald. 10/21/18 04:17 PM
MC FL910S CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 10/21/18 03:43 PM
hey old guys- tire checks - what do you sit on?
by edwardh1. 10/21/18 03:25 PM
Denso alternator repair - brush replacement
by rkpatt. 10/21/18 03:25 PM
MC FL400S CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 10/21/18 03:00 PM
Credit score/Equifax?
by irv. 10/21/18 02:54 PM
Tree fallout damage
by irv. 10/21/18 01:55 PM
Corvette French Marketing is Bizarre
by oil_film_movies. 10/21/18 01:32 PM
Europe's GM oil req Now Like the U.S.
by oil_film_movies. 10/21/18 12:21 PM
Newest Members
Roger7142, RoadRunrTX, Basketrunner, sstaggs74, WagonWheel
66259 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
104 registered members (aquariuscsm, Astro_Guy, asker123, 53' Stude, AP9, ArrestMeRedZ, 8 invisible), 1,725 guests, and 35 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics292,327
Posts4,877,641
Members66,259
Most Online2,494
Oct 17th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
How to get my new wifi to show my location?? #4720454
04/08/18 11:11 AM
04/08/18 11:11 AM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 501
Hill Country TX
daddi Offline OP
daddi  Offline OP
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 501
Hill Country TX

I have been at my new house for almost 3 months now. For some reason my internet and wifi will not show my geographic location.

Specifically anything that uses wifi will either not show a location at all or show a location 8-10 miles from me.

If you were to bring your wifi only ipad to my house and hit the map icon, it would not show my location, just have the spinning wheel.

If you brought your laptop and logged into Google maps, it would show different locations. It might be a couple miles off or 10 miles off.

If I'm outside with my Iphone it will be accurate with its GPS. Just not on wifi.


Any ideas on how I can tell my internet where my correct location is?? Have been trying to find help on this online but no answers.

Tom

Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720458
04/08/18 11:15 AM
04/08/18 11:15 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,974
IL
Vern_in_IL Offline
Vern_in_IL  Offline
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,974
IL
it's how your telco does things, my location is in the middle of my Zip code. Which is a good thing.

Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720475
04/08/18 11:33 AM
04/08/18 11:33 AM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 5,767
...
PimTac Offline
PimTac  Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 5,767
...
On the Apple Maps, there is a way to fix your location. Give your location a name and save it in maps. This will be the wrong location at first but save it anyway. Then Select your location and in the menu there should be a “edit location” selection. Use that to fix your location properly. That also sends a report to Apple who will reset it. It usually takes a few months so be patient.

I had the same issue and Amazon had problems as well until one of their delivery guys called it in on his device while standing in the driveway. They were able to adjust it right away.


2017 Mazda CX-5 GT.

Valvoline Modern Engine 0w20
Mobil 1 EP 108A
Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720523
04/08/18 12:35 PM
04/08/18 12:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,964
NE,Ohio
Rand Offline
Rand  Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 12,964
NE,Ohio
you cant tell your internet anything..

its possible you can fix a home location manually depending on app/device etc.


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi] #4720598
04/08/18 02:16 PM
04/08/18 02:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 542
Texas (south)
FermeLaPorte Offline
FermeLaPorte  Offline
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 542
Texas (south)
It is pre-determined by your provider. Best thing you can do is to have your phone locate you and then set that as your location on Google Maps. That's how I did it. Otherwise I would be located 3 miles from my home lol


Always Mobil 1
2014 1.6L Nissan Versa Sedan, 5 spd, 5k OCI.
2011 3.5L Chevrolet Impala, Automatic, 5k OCI.
Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: FermeLaPorte] #4720637
04/08/18 02:56 PM
04/08/18 02:56 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 501
Hill Country TX
daddi Offline OP
daddi  Offline OP
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 501
Hill Country TX
Thanks for all the answers. I've never had wifi that showed a incorrect location.

Seems like now a lot of the web sites want to know your location for directions to the nearest store etc.

I also use a lot of weather apps that want to show your location for weather radar etc.


BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™