Recent Topics
S/C Range Rover, 5000kms 33 different oils UOA
by Vladiator
04/22/18 04:24 PM
Buying oil on price - Pricing Rant
by JHZR2
04/22/18 04:22 PM
Mix of 33 oils VOA
by Vladiator
04/22/18 04:19 PM
Sugar Binge Hangover ... :~/
by LoneRanger
04/22/18 04:18 PM
MagnaFlow 49253 Exhaust Header
by Ambition5253
04/22/18 04:14 PM
Difference between NGK BR6ES and BPR6ES ?!?
by webfors
04/22/18 04:08 PM
Griot's Garage Glass Polish leaving dried flakes
by mclasser
04/22/18 03:56 PM
Pennzoil Platinum 10W30
by turnbowm
04/22/18 03:55 PM
Adhesive for clay pot repair?
by callbay
04/22/18 03:40 PM
G35 rough start
by bowlofturtle
04/22/18 03:37 PM
Parts Master 67045 5K OCI Cut Open
by Ifixjetz1
04/22/18 03:03 PM
Best Subcompact Cars in the US & Global
by NewEnglander
04/22/18 02:41 PM
Super Tech Clearance purchase
by mctmatt
04/22/18 01:58 PM
Website Loading Issue
by sleddriver
04/22/18 01:51 PM
White List?
by BlueOvalFitter
04/22/18 01:43 PM
Troubleshooting F-250 Tranny
by dkryan
04/22/18 01:19 PM
Cabin Vibration
by artbuc
04/22/18 12:27 PM
High Mileage ATF D&F
by FriboRage
04/22/18 12:07 PM
The new Fram TG 3682
by aquariuscsm
04/22/18 12:06 PM
Under cam cover-'74 BMW 2002
by wings&wheels
04/22/18 11:47 AM
Newest Members
Tremendo, homeontherange, dreko, Marc32275Jax, puma4440
64809 Registered Users
Who's Online
76 registered (93cruiser, Astro_Guy, andyd, 2015_PSD, bandz7, 6 invisible), 1609 Guests and 40 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
64809 Members
68 Forums
282143 Topics
4710469 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#4720454 - 04/08/18 11:11 AM How to get my new wifi to show my location??
daddi Offline


Registered: 05/26/09
Posts: 499
Loc: Hill Country TX

I have been at my new house for almost 3 months now. For some reason my internet and wifi will not show my geographic location.

Specifically anything that uses wifi will either not show a location at all or show a location 8-10 miles from me.

If you were to bring your wifi only ipad to my house and hit the map icon, it would not show my location, just have the spinning wheel.

If you brought your laptop and logged into Google maps, it would show different locations. It might be a couple miles off or 10 miles off.

If I'm outside with my Iphone it will be accurate with its GPS. Just not on wifi.


Any ideas on how I can tell my internet where my correct location is?? Have been trying to find help on this online but no answers.

Tom

Top
#4720458 - 04/08/18 11:15 AM Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi]
Vern_in_IL Online   mad


Registered: 06/25/14
Posts: 1825
Loc: IL
it's how your telco does things, my location is in the middle of my Zip code. Which is a good thing.
_________________________


Top
#4720475 - 04/08/18 11:33 AM Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi]
PimTac Online   content


Registered: 03/04/17
Posts: 3463
Loc: Soviet State of Washington
On the Apple Maps, there is a way to fix your location. Give your location a name and save it in maps. This will be the wrong location at first but save it anyway. Then Select your location and in the menu there should be a “edit location” selection. Use that to fix your location properly. That also sends a report to Apple who will reset it. It usually takes a few months so be patient.

I had the same issue and Amazon had problems as well until one of their delivery guys called it in on his device while standing in the driveway. They were able to adjust it right away.
_________________________
2017 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring

Valvoline Advanced Synthetic 0w20
Mobil 1 M108A EP filter


Top
#4720523 - 04/08/18 12:35 PM Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi]
Rand Offline


Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 12485
Loc: NE,Ohio
you cant tell your internet anything..

its possible you can fix a home location manually depending on app/device etc.
_________________________
2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk V6

Top
#4720598 - 04/08/18 02:16 PM Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: daddi]
FermeLaPorte Offline


Registered: 07/25/17
Posts: 424
Loc: Texas (south)
It is pre-determined by your provider. Best thing you can do is to have your phone locate you and then set that as your location on Google Maps. That's how I did it. Otherwise I would be located 3 miles from my home lol
_________________________
Always Mobil 1
2014 1.6L Nissan Versa Sedan, 5 spd, 5k OCI.
2011 3.5L Chevrolet Impala, Automatic, 5k OCI.

Top
#4720637 - 04/08/18 02:56 PM Re: How to get my new wifi to show my location?? [Re: FermeLaPorte]
daddi Offline


Registered: 05/26/09
Posts: 499
Loc: Hill Country TX
Thanks for all the answers. I've never had wifi that showed a incorrect location.

Seems like now a lot of the web sites want to know your location for directions to the nearest store etc.

I also use a lot of weather apps that want to show your location for weather radar etc.

Top