Recent Topics
Looking for Fram Ultra XG30 and XG5 cut open
by rubberchicken. 12/12/18 10:27 PM
92 f150 332 code
by ram_man. 12/12/18 10:05 PM
Mixing brands of brake fluid / gear lube
by SureshR. 12/12/18 09:26 PM
45,000 miles in the Caprice.
by ls1mike. 12/12/18 09:21 PM
Quality oils?
by Horsehaulin. 12/12/18 09:16 PM
Exhaust fumes in cabin
by Skater4life27. 12/12/18 08:40 PM
Squeaky sunroof
by dishdude. 12/12/18 08:09 PM
Liqui Moly Top Tec 1800
by Chuckh. 12/12/18 07:56 PM
2006 Pathfinder Transmission Shudder
by Bluestream. 12/12/18 07:10 PM
Maybe E-10 is better? - PentaStar (Flex Fuel)
by StevieC. 12/12/18 06:52 PM
Shipping cost
by Fitter30. 12/12/18 06:45 PM
Purolator P1 14476 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 12/12/18 06:00 PM
Which car to buy?
by jrcowboys. 12/12/18 04:55 PM
New Tire Cracking
by robd. 12/12/18 04:43 PM
SAR B6P - Thoughts?
by 28oz. 12/12/18 03:59 PM
Time to sell the 1-ton Dually
by 02SE. 12/12/18 03:55 PM
Shell Rotella Grease
by WMW0505. 12/12/18 02:27 PM
Need to add attic ladder in stairwell
by Klutch9. 12/12/18 12:51 PM
Newest Members
Horsehaulin, JLew, bmrk1100, Rrrracer, jefe_de_estado
66664 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
27 registered members (bbhero, Bailes1992, Aero540T, anndel, DirtyOilGuy, 3 invisible), 884 guests, and 35 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,007
Posts4,925,888
Members66,664
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Apple Airport Express can't keep up? #4714267
04/02/18 02:58 PM
04/02/18 02:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Klutch9 Offline OP
Klutch9  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Just switched internet providers today, in addition to getting higher up/down speeds. I use my own modem and router; modem is a trusty Arris SB6141, router is the cute little Airport Express. Previously, I had a 25mb download plan, but usually got around 27-29mb down, over wifi or ethernet, didn't matter. Today I switched to a 100mb download plan. Over ethernet I got about 94 during the late afternoon, which isn't bad. But over wifi, even in the same room as the router, I can't get above 48mb down. The tech doing the 'install' says that he has seen this many times with Airport Expresses struggling to get over 50mb, regardless of service plan or wifi signal strength. He said they just aren't that capable as routers (which makes sense, since the thing is SUPER tiny). Does this make sense, or has anyone else seen this with an Airport Express? Google is only partially helpful here, since most complaints come from people using theirs as a bridge... mine is being used as a router.


'11 Fusion SE 2.5L - 83k miles - HK 0w20 syn, Wix XP filter
'08 Sedona LX LWB 3.8L - 129k miles - Havoline HM 5w20, Auto7 filter
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4714277
04/02/18 03:08 PM
04/02/18 03:08 PM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,011
America
Alfred_B Offline
Alfred_B  Offline
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 2,011
America
I hope you get it to work properly. One of the worst purchases I have made was Airport Extreme -- the [censored] router ever produced.

Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4714333
04/02/18 04:15 PM
04/02/18 04:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,022
TX, USA
JMJNet Offline
JMJNet  Offline
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,022
TX, USA
IIRC, Airport Express is an N router which is an older technology, that is why it will not keep up.
You may want to get Newest Airport Extreme or Time Capsule if you want to stay with Apple technology with newer AC router.

If you don't have to stay with Apple, get Asus RT-AC68 Refurb or its brother TM-AC1900 router (can be flashed to become RT-AC68) which is going for about $50-$60 at Amazon when on sale.

Or any other equivalent.

Last edited by JMJNet; 04/02/18 04:16 PM.

  • 2017 Toyota Sienna
  • 1995 GMC Suburban 6.5L Turbo Diesel


Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4714341
04/02/18 04:26 PM
04/02/18 04:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 6,498
...
PimTac Offline
PimTac  Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 6,498
...
I had a similar experience with a older model (2009) AirPort Extreme Base station. I couldn’t get it to work with my new Xfinity connection also with the Arris box that was recommended. I bought the latest Apple base station and all is good. I’m not that tech savvy but I think as previously mentioned the older tech could not handle what was thrown at it.


Cannot see signatures any longer so it doesn’t matter.
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4714346
04/02/18 04:36 PM
04/02/18 04:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,949
Ca.
UncleDave Offline
UncleDave  Offline
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,949
Ca.
Have the latest airport extreme, seen over 300mb at times, never a bottleneck anywhere.

Have 15-20 connection running concurrently - no problems at all.



UD


Uncle Dave
Cat 3126/2 MB3500/Titan/RX400H/17 Ridgeline
700HP V10/ 725HP BBC/ Raptor 700/ KFX450/ YZ250/Onan 8K/ Cat3011C
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: JMJNet] #4714445
04/02/18 06:15 PM
04/02/18 06:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: JMJNet
IIRC, Airport Express is an N router which is an older technology, that is why it will not keep up.
You may want to get Newest Airport Extreme or Time Capsule if you want to stay with Apple technology with newer AC router.

If you don't have to stay with Apple, get Asus RT-AC68 Refurb or its brother TM-AC1900 router (can be flashed to become RT-AC68) which is going for about $50-$60 at Amazon when on sale.

Or any other equivalent.


802.11n is capable of more than 48Mbit. My guess is his might be old enough to be 802.11g, which would be the previous generation.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: OVERKILL] #4714574
04/02/18 08:15 PM
04/02/18 08:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Klutch9 Offline OP
Klutch9  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Originally Posted By: JMJNet
IIRC, Airport Express is an N router which is an older technology, that is why it will not keep up.
You may want to get Newest Airport Extreme or Time Capsule if you want to stay with Apple technology with newer AC router.

If you don't have to stay with Apple, get Asus RT-AC68 Refurb or its brother TM-AC1900 router (can be flashed to become RT-AC68) which is going for about $50-$60 at Amazon when on sale.

Or any other equivalent.


802.11n is capable of more than 48Mbit. My guess is his might be old enough to be 802.11g, which would be the previous generation.


My Express is the second generation 'N' unit. However, it is not a gigabit device; the WAN and LAN ports are only 10/100. In theory this is fine, but with normal losses I'll never see that amount from this device. Some more careful Googling reveals that this is actually a common issue with the Express. A number of people complain about only getting ~30-80 mbps down speeds, when they actually have a much higher down rate when connected to LAN. I ordered this router to hopefully remedy this issue:

TP-Link Archer C1200 Router

I know it's ONLY an AC1200 router, but it's a huge upgrade from the N450 Airport Express, and it should also solve my bad signaling issue in the far side of the house. Looking at a few reviews, this should easily support 100mbps down speeds even on the 2.4GHz band. We'll see... can't beat the price though.


'11 Fusion SE 2.5L - 83k miles - HK 0w20 syn, Wix XP filter
'08 Sedona LX LWB 3.8L - 129k miles - Havoline HM 5w20, Auto7 filter
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4714771
04/03/18 04:54 AM
04/03/18 04:54 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
Quick question, what device are you testing the WiFi speed with? That's an important component too.

802.11n supported MIMO, but your Express may not have, and heck, what you are testing it with may not have either.

To benefit from AC, your device will also need to support that.

The 30-80Mbit range you cited is quite broad (as I'm sure you noted). 80 is definitely within the upper realm and what I would expect as being the practical limit for it, given its specifications and factoring in overhead.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: OVERKILL] #4715284
04/03/18 02:04 PM
04/03/18 02:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Klutch9 Offline OP
Klutch9  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Quick question, what device are you testing the WiFi speed with? That's an important component too.

802.11n supported MIMO, but your Express may not have, and heck, what you are testing it with may not have either.

To benefit from AC, your device will also need to support that.

The 30-80Mbit range you cited is quite broad (as I'm sure you noted). 80 is definitely within the upper realm and what I would expect as being the practical limit for it, given its specifications and factoring in overhead.


Overkill, WiFi speeds have been measured from my iPhone 6 and also my laptop, both of which support AC WiFi.


'11 Fusion SE 2.5L - 83k miles - HK 0w20 syn, Wix XP filter
'08 Sedona LX LWB 3.8L - 129k miles - Havoline HM 5w20, Auto7 filter
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4715400
04/03/18 04:44 PM
04/03/18 04:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Klutch9
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Quick question, what device are you testing the WiFi speed with? That's an important component too.

802.11n supported MIMO, but your Express may not have, and heck, what you are testing it with may not have either.

To benefit from AC, your device will also need to support that.

The 30-80Mbit range you cited is quite broad (as I'm sure you noted). 80 is definitely within the upper realm and what I would expect as being the practical limit for it, given its specifications and factoring in overhead.


Overkill, WiFi speeds have been measured from my iPhone 6 and also my laptop, both of which support AC WiFi.


What's your laptop show for link speed on the WiFi? Just curious.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: OVERKILL] #4716364
04/04/18 03:14 PM
04/04/18 03:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
Klutch9 Offline OP
Klutch9  Offline OP
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,472
Rochester, MI, US, World
So all is well now... the Airport Express was the issue. Installed the new Tp-Link C1200 router that I linked a few posts back (router has great 5GHz range compared to the Airport Express too!) My WiFi down speeds on 5GHz are now around 120-130, and on 2.4GHZ around 70-80 at least. I haven't tried a hardwired LAN speed test yet. Although the only PC I have is a laptop that does not have a gigbit ethernet port anyway.


'11 Fusion SE 2.5L - 83k miles - HK 0w20 syn, Wix XP filter
'08 Sedona LX LWB 3.8L - 129k miles - Havoline HM 5w20, Auto7 filter
Re: Apple Airport Express can't keep up? [Re: Klutch9] #4716631
04/04/18 08:31 PM
04/04/18 08:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,917
Ontario, Canada
Great to hear thumbsup


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™