2014 F250 6.7L, Amsoil SS 5w40, 3.7% fuel

Status
Not open for further replies.
Two reports below that analyzed the same oil, Amsoil SS 5w40 from my F250 6.7L.

In the Blackstone report, left column is Amsoil SS 5w40, far two right columns are Rotella T6 5w40, and the other column 1/28/18 is Red Line 15w40.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: PimTac
Do you idle a lot?

This OCI had very few short trips, and no extended idling.

I would ignore the fuel. The oil is doing its job irrespective of the dilution. Keep on chuggin.

Is this the Amsoil DEO 5W40, the new Sig Series Diesel Oil? If so, virgin viscosity is around 15.4, and your sample is 12.4... which is a 20% loss in viscosity. I'm no dilution expert, but some rough math on super thin diesel fuel (2.0cSt@100*C) shows your viscosity should have been around 14.9 with 3.7% fuel. This oil must really shear down in your application?

3.7% of 13 quarts- That's nearly half a quart of diesel in your oil... did the level on the dipstick show above your fill point before you drained it?

I agree with the posters above-need to watch your oil levels closely, you might have an injector sticking open. I think I would be changing oil a little more often, maybe with a less expensive oil-but that's just me.

Originally Posted By: SubieRubyRoo
Is this the Amsoil DEO 5W40, the new Sig Series Diesel Oil? If so, virgin viscosity is around 15.4, and your sample is 12.4... which is a 20% loss in viscosity. I'm no dilution expert, but some rough math on super thin diesel fuel (2.0cSt@100*C) shows your viscosity should have been around 14.9 with 3.7% fuel. This oil must really shear down in your application?

3.7% of 13 quarts- That's nearly half a quart of diesel in your oil... did the level on the dipstick show above your fill point before you drained it?

VOA for this oil is here. 14.5 viscosity per VOA.

www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads...eri#Post4659791