80s Beater Trucks

Status
Not open for further replies.
I seem to be collecting them. I just drove my '88 GMC on a 3-hour trip to pickup an '86 Ranger. It towed very well, even if it was a bit slow.
The Ranger needs a clutch because it doesn't move, but the engine sounds great. I'll be working on it next week. It's a bare bones base model, carbureted 2.0. Just how I like it.

20180330_182358.jpg

your ‘88 looks great minus the paint scheme. Awesome that it made a three hour trip without issues.

Originally Posted By: FirstNissan
your ‘88 looks great minus the paint scheme. Awesome that it made a three hour trip without issues.

Thanks. The paint is one of the few things that I haven't fixed. I'm a mechanic, not an artist.

I have a 1986 F350 dually 6.9 diesel that has never really seen proper maintenance... yet it just won't die.

My other dually is a 1995 K3500 Chevy 7.4/454 with almost 300,000 miles - it's been run on 15W-40 tractor oil it's whole life.

Wow, a 2.0 is REALLY bare bones and very rare these days. You do know it has like 70 or 80 HP right?

It is a Lima though, very simple. Good as an around town beater.

Great candidate for a 5.0 swap.

Cool project whatever you decide. Keep us updated.

Last edited:
Hah, that picture is weirding me out. Up here both would be rotted out almost to the point of no recognition. Super jealous of clean Southern vehicles! My dad had an '86 Ranger he swapped a 302 into and later a 351W. Fun little truck.

Your '88 looks like my '93 C3500-at least all your paint still seems to be attached!
smirk.gif

Those Rangers are simple, bare bones trucks-they make good beaters, but they can't haul much weight. Like the old early 4 cylinder S-10s.

Originally Posted By: bullwinkle
Your '88 looks like my '93 C3500-at least all your paint still seems to be attached!
smirk.gif

Those Rangers are simple, bare bones trucks-they make good beaters, but they can't haul much weight. Like the old early 4 cylinder S-10s.