Chicago area winter tires

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been driving for over 40 years around here and never put on a set of winter tires and never had a problem managing with all seasons. I'm older now and losing my confidence. I'm thinking about winter tires for safer driving starting next winter. The communities I drive through are good at plowing and salting for rush hours but there is regularly snow and/or slush on the road. I worry mostly about my wife driving early in the morning before the plows get out or later in the evening when the plows are waiting for the roads to clear of traffic. Anyway, I have these questions for Chicago area drivers or anyone who wants to chime in:

1. Do many of you put on winter tires in the Chicago area or do you manage with all seasons like I've done?
2. Do you have a set of dedicated wheels for winter also or do you swap tires on the same wheels? Is it bad for tires to often mount and dismount?
3. When do you generally put your winter tires on and then take them off?
4. Do you mark your tires for rotation purposes? How?
5. Do you keep track of the miles you put on each set?

1. managed with all-season fine in the first year/brand new tires when there was enough "meat" to bite in snow. completely useless on ice!
1a. when not enough thread on all-season tires, well it became interesting......
2. winter tires on same wheels (all-seasons had enough thread 8/32, but had cracks at 3 years old, so didn't feel safe). my first winter set on the Yaris.
3. Around November
4., 5. I have not rotated tires on the last 3 cars I own. It allow me to replace tires in sets of 2 if needed (elantra). 2 cars (Yaris and Mazda5) replaced in sets of 4 because the wear was constant between front and back (mazda5 same thread depth, 3/32; Yaris 7/32 front, 8/32 back)

Chicago area was hit harder than us up here in southeastern Wisconsin this year.

We have had 2 mild precipitation winters in a row now...