Recent Topics
TGMO 0W-20, 10,300 mi, 282,000 on 2012 Elantra
by schuylkill. 10/19/18 05:14 AM
Lowest W grade oil
by OilUzer. 10/19/18 04:50 AM
ST Conventional SN Plus
by motorguy222. 10/19/18 02:42 AM
schaefferoil or Amsoil
by s2krunner. 10/19/18 02:29 AM
Pennzoil conventional oil meets api sn plus
by chris_84. 10/18/18 11:45 PM
TGMO in new Honda turbos?
by BTLew81. 10/18/18 11:26 PM
'02 Explorer Sport Trac: 302k mile update
by 14Accent. 10/18/18 10:43 PM
BMW 335 Quick Coolant Change
by antonmnster. 10/18/18 09:58 PM
190k miles
by Marco620. 10/18/18 09:56 PM
tire rotation/jack location
by mobilaltima. 10/18/18 09:23 PM
Apparently I'm not allowed to...
by BMWTurboDzl. 10/18/18 08:41 PM
2014 Cruze 2.0, AMSOIL DHD 7k miles 68k total
by Rat407. 10/18/18 08:32 PM
Stabilizer needed for 5-6 month storage?
by Quattro Pete. 10/18/18 08:29 PM
Clearance ST filter cut open
by barkingspider. 10/18/18 07:56 PM
0W20 Required for Jeep Auto Stop/Start
by harbor. 10/18/18 05:42 PM
Newest Members
Whyssosseriouss, TNflash, The74impala, Ryan1122, ston123
66244 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
42 registered members (bbhero, Char Baby, Corollaman, dlundblad, dnewton3, Bailes1992, 3 invisible), 757 guests, and 36 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics292,166
Posts4,875,209
Members66,244
Most Online2,494
Oct 17th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Range indicator in rental car seems way off #4708343
03/27/18 10:17 AM
03/27/18 10:17 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,650
SF Bay Area
y_p_w Offline OP
y_p_w  Offline OP
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,650
SF Bay Area
Iím renting a 2017 Toyota Yaris, and I was playing around with all the trip settings like instantaneous/average MPG and speed. I figured out how to reset the average MPG by holding the select stalk down. It put out dashes for a while until it displayed the first value.

However, the range indicator seemed way off. It was displaying 197 miles when I picked it up with a nearly full tank. After driving about 100 miles itís down to 145 miles. Itís got maybe an 11.6 gallon tank and has maybe a 33 MPG highway estimate. I was getting 37 MPG average MPG at one point after resetting.

I donít know if thereís any way to reset it short of filling the tank, and even then Iím skeptical that it will display anything accurate.

Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708357
03/27/18 10:34 AM
03/27/18 10:34 AM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 2,501
SE British Columbia, Canada
Snagglefoot Offline
Snagglefoot  Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 2,501
SE British Columbia, Canada
I'm thinking the range indicator did the calculation from the MPG is was registering at the time which consisted of driving around the parking lot. You're probably out on the highway now with a better MGP. Let's see, in a perfect situation with 11.6 gallons and 33 mpg your range would be 382 miles. If you drove 100 miles on the highway your remaining range should be 282 miles but is displaying 145 miles. Maybe go fill it up because the gas gauge might be wrong.


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708358
03/27/18 10:36 AM
03/27/18 10:36 AM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 345
Ohio
Dorian Offline
Dorian  Offline
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 345
Ohio
Our 14 Camry is the same way. It more than likely is basing the original estimate off of the MPG for the tank so far.


15 Camry Hybrid SE 48K 0W20 Kendall bulk
14.5 Camry SE 2AR 0W20 M1 AFE 44K (Mom's)
98 Chevy Prizm 1ZZ M1 AFE 0W30 148K (Brother's)
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708359
03/27/18 10:39 AM
03/27/18 10:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,481
Ontario, Canada
mightymousetech Offline
mightymousetech  Offline
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,481
Ontario, Canada
On my BMW, it is based on the previous 50 km driven, regardless of resetting trip and avg FE.


Mighty Mouse Tech
BMW Tech, Former Acura Tech
2010 Civic Si Castrol 0W40, Redline MTL
2013 BMW 135i M Sport Edition Castrol 0W40, Redline MTL
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708360
03/27/18 10:40 AM
03/27/18 10:40 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,408
Santa Barbara, CA
bdcardinal Offline
bdcardinal  Offline
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 11,408
Santa Barbara, CA
You have to remember that rental cars are the fastest cars in the world. The fuel range meter thing has to adapt to multiple drivers.


2014 Ford Mustang GT Track Pack
1995 Ford Mustang GT

Ford/Mazda Parts Counter
NRA Benefactor Member
Opinions expressed are my own.
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708366
03/27/18 10:46 AM
03/27/18 10:46 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,216
Ontario, Canada
IndyIan Offline
IndyIan  Offline
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,216
Ontario, Canada
I don't even look at the range estimate on the Outback to determine when to fuel up. On a full tank starting a hwy trip it gets pretty optimistic! Like 600+ mile ranges! In the Outback forums there has been a few people who ran out with 20 miles left on the range computer, but of course had the low fuel light on for 40 miles...


07 Focus ZXW, 5spd manual, 218km M1 5W30
18 Outback 2.5 CVT 15km 0W20
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708367
03/27/18 10:46 AM
03/27/18 10:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 2,501
SE British Columbia, Canada
Snagglefoot Offline
Snagglefoot  Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 2,501
SE British Columbia, Canada
Maybe Danica Patrick rented it before you. LOL banana


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: IndyIan] #4708373
03/27/18 11:01 AM
03/27/18 11:01 AM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,481
Ontario, Canada
mightymousetech Offline
mightymousetech  Offline
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,481
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: IndyIan
I don't even look at the range estimate on the Outback to determine when to fuel up. On a full tank starting a hwy trip it gets pretty optimistic! Like 600+ mile ranges! In the Outback forums there has been a few people who ran out with 20 miles left on the range computer, but of course had the low fuel light on for 40 miles...


I love it when I do half a tank of city driving, then I do a 2 hour highway drive, and the range increases my entire trip. I arrive with a higher range than when I left.


Mighty Mouse Tech
BMW Tech, Former Acura Tech
2010 Civic Si Castrol 0W40, Redline MTL
2013 BMW 135i M Sport Edition Castrol 0W40, Redline MTL
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708391
03/27/18 11:15 AM
03/27/18 11:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 61
Mt. Vernon, NY
ssamaroo01 Online content
ssamaroo01  Online Content
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 61
Mt. Vernon, NY
It looks at the average fuel economy of the last 500 miles to get a miles to empty range on Fords.


2015 Fusion Titanium AWD 2.0L Ecoboost 103k
2012 Escape Limited 2.5L Duratec 42k
2000 E-250 4.2L 90k
MC FS W/ MC Filters
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: ssamaroo01] #4708406
03/27/18 11:23 AM
03/27/18 11:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,012
PV Az
AZjeff Offline
AZjeff  Offline
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,012
PV Az
Originally Posted By: ssamaroo01
It looks at the average fuel economy of the last 500 miles to get a miles to empty range on Fords.


This. It's a rental Yaris, it's been flogged and is using the last few tanks to calculate the range.


86 Samurai 1.3 leftovers
14 RAV4 2.5 5W-20 PP
16 Silverado 1500 4.3, DI, AFM 5W-30 PP

The most important thing to do in your life is to not interfere with someone else's life. - Frank Zappa

Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: ssamaroo01] #4708411
03/27/18 11:27 AM
03/27/18 11:27 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,650
SF Bay Area
y_p_w Offline OP
y_p_w  Offline OP
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,650
SF Bay Area
Originally Posted By: ssamaroo01
It looks at the average fuel economy of the last 500 miles to get a miles to empty range on Fords.

I'm used to the one in my parents' Nissan. That thing is always adjusting and I can see it go way up just from driving on the freeway. I rented another car fairly recently, and that seemed to be extremely accurate in assessing how my recent driving was affecting the range.

The Yaris is kind of basic though. No temp gauge. No power windows and no remote. I can unlock/lock everything through the key though. If I lock/unlock the trunk key, it does the same for all the other locks.

Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708547
03/27/18 02:17 PM
03/27/18 02:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 868
Central Coast California
RedOakRanch Offline
RedOakRanch  Offline
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 868
Central Coast California
I rented a Taurus in Florida once, when they gave me the car it said miles to empty 300. I drove it 100 miles and put 3 gallons in it to avoid their fuel fee. When I turned the car in it said 400 miles to empty so they gave me a credit since I put "extra" gas in it. I laughed the rest of the day!


1994 Ford Crown Vic 207k-Frankenbrew 0w20,30,40!
2005 Chevy 1500 Crewcab 4X4 180k-BC 0w30 $2/qt
2016 Outback 2.5 Limited 60k-shop brand?
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: RedOakRanch] #4708620
03/27/18 04:14 PM
03/27/18 04:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,095
British Columbia, Canada
ecotourist Offline
ecotourist  Offline
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,095
British Columbia, Canada
Originally Posted By: RedOakRanch
I rented a Taurus in Florida once, when they gave me the car it said miles to empty 300. I drove it 100 miles and put 3 gallons in it to avoid their fuel fee. When I turned the car in it said 400 miles to empty so they gave me a credit since I put "extra" gas in it. I laughed the rest of the day!

Wow using "miles to empty" as a fuel gauge. Honestly, those rental car people! That's almost as bad as my rental car with the dash light on asking for an oil change; when I told the clerk about it and she said, "it still has oil in it doesn't it".


2000 BMW 528i 5MT
2007 Honda Accord EX-L 4Door V6 6MT
Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: y_p_w] #4708749
03/27/18 06:04 PM
03/27/18 06:04 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 294
New Jersey
93cruiser Offline
93cruiser  Offline
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 294
New Jersey
Originally Posted By: y_p_w
Originally Posted By: ssamaroo01
It looks at the average fuel economy of the last 500 miles to get a miles to empty range on Fords.

I'm used to the one in my parents' Nissan. That thing is always adjusting and I can see it go way up just from driving on the freeway. I rented another car fairly recently, and that seemed to be extremely accurate in assessing how my recent driving was affecting the range.

The Yaris is kind of basic though. No temp gauge. No power windows and no remote. I can unlock/lock everything through the key though. If I lock/unlock the trunk key, it does the same for all the other locks.


No temperature gauge at all? Wouldn't buy a car/truck that had no temp indicator.

Re: Range indicator in rental car seems way off [Re: 93cruiser] #4709112
03/28/18 12:44 AM
03/28/18 12:44 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,650
SF Bay Area
y_p_w Offline OP
y_p_w  Offline OP
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,650
SF Bay Area
Originally Posted By: 93cruiser
Originally Posted By: y_p_w
Originally Posted By: ssamaroo01
It looks at the average fuel economy of the last 500 miles to get a miles to empty range on Fords.

I'm used to the one in my parents' Nissan. That thing is always adjusting and I can see it go way up just from driving on the freeway. I rented another car fairly recently, and that seemed to be extremely accurate in assessing how my recent driving was affecting the range.

The Yaris is kind of basic though. No temp gauge. No power windows and no remote. I can unlock/lock everything through the key though. If I lock/unlock the trunk key, it does the same for all the other locks.


No temperature gauge at all? Wouldn't buy a car/truck that had no temp indicator.

It had the manual in the glove box, and power windows seemed to be an option, but Hertz is probably only ordering bone stock without a remote or power windows.

It did have a temperature light. As far as I could tell, the light is on until the car is considered "warmed up" in which case the light turns off. Here's a photo I found of the instrument cluster:



The temp light is under the tach but of course doesn't show up well in the photo since it's not illuminated.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™