Whirlpool dryer won't start

Status
Not open for further replies.
Whirlpool dryer, made in 1999, model LER7646EQ2

It dried a load of clothes on the automatic cycle. Cycle ended normally, started & stopped a couple more times on the Finish Guard setting until clothes were removed. Next load put in, pushed Start button, and would not start.

-Dryer is getting power.
-Start switch tests good with ohmmeter.
-Will not start on Automatic or Manual (timed) cycles. I can hear the timer running (ticking), but the dryer will not start.
-Door switch is good.
-Both thermal fuses tested good with an ohmmeter.

I'm a trained electronics tech, but have practically no appliance experience. Any help appreciated!

Went back downstairs to mess with it, and found a schematic inside. It showed a table to test the various terminals on the timer. Looks like the problem is the timer. Thanks for the replies!

Originally Posted By: zrxkawboy
Went back downstairs to mess with it, and found a schematic inside. It showed a table to test the various terminals on the timer. Looks like the problem is the timer. Thanks for the replies!

The timer might still be available but will probably not be cheap depending upon the number of functions the dryer has. There may be companies that sell rebuilt timers. I bought a rebuilt control panel for an oven from a company that rebuilt them. It was no longer available from the manufacturer.

They do some crazy things with timers. Some will cut power to timer motor until the dry sensor tells it things are dry and timer can advance toward shutoff.

Take the time to vacuum the guts and maybe replace belt.

New dryer might be good investment. Or a new-in-box one from CraigsList.

Originally Posted By: csandste
Nineteen years on a dryer. You're blessed. Your next one won't last that long.

Sad to hear this. We usually got 30 years plus on a dryer. Nothing but junk sold now.