Recent Topics
Gluten
by StevieC. 09/25/18 07:55 PM
Amazon Prime delivering inside your house
by StevieC. 09/25/18 07:49 PM
2018 MB C300 M1 0W-40 3,475 Miles
by 2015_PSD. 09/25/18 06:44 PM
02-05 Silverado frame rot
by Oildudeny. 09/25/18 06:38 PM
Aftermarket Back Up Camera
by lancerplayer. 09/25/18 06:20 PM
Service champ filter CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 05:05 PM
Pressure washer pump life just 23 hours?
by HawkeyeScott. 09/25/18 05:01 PM
STP S 10590 CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 05:00 PM
2003 BMW M5-Unknown oil 2500 mi
by Audios. 09/25/18 04:54 PM
FRAM ULTRA XG 3593A CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 04:51 PM
MG 201-7, 7,500 MILES CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 04:44 PM
MG 301-1, 10,800 miles CUT OPEN
by 53' Stude. 09/25/18 04:34 PM
Anyone regret their cordless electric OPE?
by dlundblad. 09/25/18 04:21 PM
Which Performance Filter?
by rooflessVW. 09/25/18 03:33 PM
Optimal Compression Ratio for 91 Octane Fuel
by NICAT. 09/25/18 02:01 PM
Anyone used Amsoil DZF 0w40 ?
by ofelas. 09/25/18 01:33 PM
No more Turo - What now?
by dogememe. 09/25/18 01:08 PM
Military small arms ammo
by Camprunner. 09/25/18 12:03 PM
Newest Members
Pat_Roberts, Peppz, Jfa02, ibsfusion, Fearcat707
66070 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
99 registered members (92saturnsl2, 2004tdigls, 4WD, 2015_PSD, ABomb369, 2013ecof150, 11 invisible), 1,466 guests, and 34 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics291,012
Posts4,854,405
Members66,070
Most Online3,590
Jan 24th, 2017
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
ROKU #4700934
03/20/18 04:56 PM
03/20/18 04:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
I just got a TCL TV with ROKU and I know most people use WiFi to connect to it.

Can I use Cable internet to connect to ROKU using my modem ?

What channels are worth subscribing to and what do they cost?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700940
03/20/18 05:02 PM
03/20/18 05:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Does your modem also include a wi-fi router? Or do you have a separate wi-fi router that connects to your cable modem? Connecting Roku to a wi-fi router would probably be the easiest.

If your TV has an Ethernet port, then you could use an Ethernet cable to connect it to your modem/router as well.

As far as channels, there are a lot of free ones out there. From the paid ones, we use the usual... Netflix and AmazonPrimeVideo.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700948
03/20/18 05:06 PM
03/20/18 05:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 4,759
North Carolina
rooflessVW Offline
rooflessVW  Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 4,759
North Carolina
Terrarium TV


"Zed's dead baby, Zed's dead."
Re: ROKU [Re: Quattro Pete] #4700955
03/20/18 05:15 PM
03/20/18 05:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Does your modem also include a wi-fi router? Or do you have a separate wi-fi router that connects to your cable modem? Connecting Roku to a wi-fi router would probably be the easiest.

My Modem and Router are seperate...the other day I hooked my Modem up to the TV and tried to connect to ROKU and got a error code 009.
Note: I have not subscribed to ROKU yet.

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700961
03/20/18 05:21 PM
03/20/18 05:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Connect your TV to the router, not modem, and then follow your TV's network connection instructions. My guess is that once your TV connects to your home network, you will be able to set up the ROKU app without issues.



'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700971
03/20/18 05:28 PM
03/20/18 05:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
I was given a Router and never used one before.
I need to sign up for WiFi thru Comcast...right ?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700973
03/20/18 05:31 PM
03/20/18 05:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Warstud
I was given a Router and never used one before.
I need to sign up for WiFi thru Comcast...right ?

No. You just need to connect it to your modem and configure it. No need to sign up for anything additional.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700977
03/20/18 05:37 PM
03/20/18 05:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,831
United We Stand
Cup of Joe Offline
Cup of Joe  Offline
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,831
United We Stand
I have 3 roku's, I connect with wifi and ethernet cable. My roku ultra uses ethernet and my rokutv and stick on wifi.

PlutoTV has the best free live tv, best guide and VOD to some extent. It may not be exactly what you are looking to what but its 100% free. I use apps on my Roku and over the air tv for everything.


2015 Toyota 4runner mobil 1 10w-30
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700984
03/20/18 05:40 PM
03/20/18 05:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700991
03/20/18 05:44 PM
03/20/18 05:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

No. The router should be the only device connected to the modem. You can connect that computer in another room to the router using the same ethernet cable.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700992
03/20/18 05:45 PM
03/20/18 05:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,831
United We Stand
Cup of Joe Offline
Cup of Joe  Offline
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,831
United We Stand
What kind of modem do you have?

I have fiberoptic at my house, the service comes with an all in 1 modem/router that has 5 ethernet cable ports out.


2015 Toyota 4runner mobil 1 10w-30
Re: ROKU [Re: Quattro Pete] #4700994
03/20/18 05:51 PM
03/20/18 05:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

No. The router should be the only device connected to the modem. You can connect that computer in another room to the router using the same ethernet cable.



So your saying ROKU only works with WiFi and since I have cable internet....I need both a modem and a router to convert cable data to WiFi data ?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700997
03/20/18 05:56 PM
03/20/18 05:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 36,320
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

No. The router should be the only device connected to the modem. You can connect that computer in another room to the router using the same ethernet cable.



So your saying ROKU only works with WiFi and since I have cable internet....I need both a modem and a router to convert cable data to WiFi data ?
No, that is not what I am saying. Some ROKU players can connected using a physical network ethernet cable as well.
What I am saying is that you need a router in order to be able to SHARE the internet connection among multiple devices (ROKU, your PC, your smartphone, etc.). That is assuming that your modem does not already have a built-in router. How many ethernet ports does your cable modem have? Just one or more?


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (FF)
Re: ROKU [Re: Cup of Joe] #4701001
03/20/18 05:59 PM
03/20/18 05:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Originally Posted By: Cup of Joe
What kind of modem do you have?


Arris SB6121

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4701005
03/20/18 06:01 PM
03/20/18 06:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,684
MIchigan
It only has one Ethernet Port.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™