Recent Topics
Oil recommendations for old car
by chromedome. 03/19/19 04:06 PM
Reply Box Window
by das_peikko. 03/19/19 03:45 PM
New plants around the yard
by gregk24. 03/19/19 03:24 PM
New Nissan Titan XD w/5.6l oil choices
by josephp732. 03/19/19 03:20 PM
Gran Prix Tour RS tires
by HangFire. 03/19/19 01:50 PM
Look How Good Our Cars Are Getting!
by ekpolk. 03/19/19 11:49 AM
Good or bad? Special ordering a brand new car?
by Ed_Flecko. 03/19/19 11:49 AM
Good Purchase?
by FordBroncoVWJeta. 03/19/19 11:33 AM
not sure what spark plugs to buy now
by MrTruckDriver. 03/19/19 11:33 AM
Tires on a Lease Return
by clarkflower. 03/19/19 11:25 AM
Auto-Rx now available on Amazon
by LarryD. 03/19/19 11:14 AM
Best place to advertise used car for sale?
by Ed_Flecko. 03/19/19 10:51 AM
A little help with a 2010 Santa Fe
by nicholas. 03/19/19 10:50 AM
Lawn Mower Battery - What's Up with That?
by Astro_Guy. 03/19/19 10:34 AM
This makes me sick
by SLO_Town. 03/19/19 10:32 AM
Slanderous Fram Orange Can Review
by doitmyself. 03/19/19 08:39 AM
MRV of PP EURO 0W40 an anomaly?
by 21Rouge. 03/19/19 08:39 AM
The Beater is Even Uglier Now!
by Delta. 03/19/19 08:28 AM
Newest Members
jmd, alexislaborda, tbann, LisaMC, chops
67556 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
122 registered members (28oz, 2015_PSD, aircooled, AandPDan, ArrestMeRedZ, AdditiveOCD, 7 invisible), 2,277 guests, and 58 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics286,074
Posts4,902,057
Members67,556
Most Online2,967
Mar 10th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
ROKU #4700934
03/20/18 04:56 PM
03/20/18 04:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
I just got a TCL TV with ROKU and I know most people use WiFi to connect to it.

Can I use Cable internet to connect to ROKU using my modem ?

What channels are worth subscribing to and what do they cost?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700940
03/20/18 05:02 PM
03/20/18 05:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Does your modem also include a wi-fi router? Or do you have a separate wi-fi router that connects to your cable modem? Connecting Roku to a wi-fi router would probably be the easiest.

If your TV has an Ethernet port, then you could use an Ethernet cable to connect it to your modem/router as well.

As far as channels, there are a lot of free ones out there. From the paid ones, we use the usual... Netflix and AmazonPrimeVideo.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700948
03/20/18 05:06 PM
03/20/18 05:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,646
North Carolina
rooflessVW Online content
rooflessVW  Online Content

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,646
North Carolina
Terrarium TV


"Zed's dead baby, Zed's dead."
Re: ROKU [Re: Quattro Pete] #4700955
03/20/18 05:15 PM
03/20/18 05:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Does your modem also include a wi-fi router? Or do you have a separate wi-fi router that connects to your cable modem? Connecting Roku to a wi-fi router would probably be the easiest.

My Modem and Router are seperate...the other day I hooked my Modem up to the TV and tried to connect to ROKU and got a error code 009.
Note: I have not subscribed to ROKU yet.

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700961
03/20/18 05:21 PM
03/20/18 05:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Connect your TV to the router, not modem, and then follow your TV's network connection instructions. My guess is that once your TV connects to your home network, you will be able to set up the ROKU app without issues.



'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700971
03/20/18 05:28 PM
03/20/18 05:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
I was given a Router and never used one before.
I need to sign up for WiFi thru Comcast...right ?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700973
03/20/18 05:31 PM
03/20/18 05:31 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Warstud
I was given a Router and never used one before.
I need to sign up for WiFi thru Comcast...right ?

No. You just need to connect it to your modem and configure it. No need to sign up for anything additional.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700977
03/20/18 05:37 PM
03/20/18 05:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,840
United We Stand
Cup of Joe Offline
Cup of Joe  Offline

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,840
United We Stand
I have 3 roku's, I connect with wifi and ethernet cable. My roku ultra uses ethernet and my rokutv and stick on wifi.

PlutoTV has the best free live tv, best guide and VOD to some extent. It may not be exactly what you are looking to what but its 100% free. I use apps on my Roku and over the air tv for everything.


2015 Toyota 4runner mobil 1 10w-30
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700984
03/20/18 05:40 PM
03/20/18 05:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700991
03/20/18 05:44 PM
03/20/18 05:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

No. The router should be the only device connected to the modem. You can connect that computer in another room to the router using the same ethernet cable.


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700992
03/20/18 05:45 PM
03/20/18 05:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,840
United We Stand
Cup of Joe Offline
Cup of Joe  Offline

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,840
United We Stand
What kind of modem do you have?

I have fiberoptic at my house, the service comes with an all in 1 modem/router that has 5 ethernet cable ports out.


2015 Toyota 4runner mobil 1 10w-30
Re: ROKU [Re: Quattro Pete] #4700994
03/20/18 05:51 PM
03/20/18 05:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

No. The router should be the only device connected to the modem. You can connect that computer in another room to the router using the same ethernet cable.



So your saying ROKU only works with WiFi and since I have cable internet....I need both a modem and a router to convert cable data to WiFi data ?

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4700997
03/20/18 05:56 PM
03/20/18 05:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Quattro Pete Offline
Quattro Pete  Offline

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 37,037
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Originally Posted By: Warstud
Will it work if I hook up the Router to the Modem while the Modem is connected to the computer that is in another room?

No. The router should be the only device connected to the modem. You can connect that computer in another room to the router using the same ethernet cable.



So your saying ROKU only works with WiFi and since I have cable internet....I need both a modem and a router to convert cable data to WiFi data ?
No, that is not what I am saying. Some ROKU players can connected using a physical network ethernet cable as well.
What I am saying is that you need a router in order to be able to SHARE the internet connection among multiple devices (ROKU, your PC, your smartphone, etc.). That is assuming that your modem does not already have a built-in router. How many ethernet ports does your cable modem have? Just one or more?


'02 530i (Edge 0W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)
'18 Charger SRT (PUP 0W-40 SRT)
Re: ROKU [Re: Cup of Joe] #4701001
03/20/18 05:59 PM
03/20/18 05:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Originally Posted By: Cup of Joe
What kind of modem do you have?


Arris SB6121

Re: ROKU [Re: Warstud] #4701005
03/20/18 06:01 PM
03/20/18 06:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
Warstud Offline OP
Warstud  Offline OP

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,161
MIchigan
It only has one Ethernet Port.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™