Seems to be a Quest for Longer OCI's

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here. I've been lurking on this site for a while and am confused about the apparent quest among some members to extend OCI's to unprecedented levels ie. 15k, 20k or even 25k.

Could someone explain the logic behind this quest ?

I gather that it may be for several reasons: protect the environment from used motor oil, save money by limiting the frequency of oil changes or just the satisfaction of achieving long OCI's without engine damage. One member seems to promote very long OCI's in the belief that engine wear is not significantly different using fresher oil or oil with high mileage. (please forgive me sir if I over simplified).

However these reasons don't justify IMO, risking thousands of dollars for repairs or replacement of an engine considering a saving of only a few hundred dollars per year on reduced number of oil changes. I know I am missing something here and there is probably a perspective that I can't yet grasp.

Tight Wads
lol.gif

It's adding to the body of knowledge through first-hand accounts and accumulation of data. There is a lot of "bro science" with regard to vehicle maintenance and some folks want real data to justify the maintenance recommendations. Therefore, some folks choose to ignore the recommendations and see what happens if they push their OCI beyond what some folks think is achievable.

The risk the OP talks about is not there IF we are talking about "normal" conditions. Would you repaint your house every 4 years when there was evidence that the paint lasts well beyond 10 years? Why risk ruining your $200,000 dollar home. Exact same logic. Today's oils in today's engines have been proven to be effective well beyond the old 3,000 mile, 3 month recommendations.