My Routine - Hyundai Elantra and Kia Sorento

Status
Not open for further replies.
First Post!

My Grandfather taught me how to do an oil change on a 1987 Pontiac 6000 about 15 years ago. I just recently started to do them on my current cars. I'm no mechanic but oil changes seem easy enough.

I am in Alberta, Canada. Local temperature ranges from -30C to +30C over the year.

2009 Hyundai Elantra sedan 2.0L, 185,000 km on the odometer.
My wife's daily driver, 18km one way.
Hyundai OEM filter.
Pennzoil Platinum 5W-20
I have one more grey jug to use up.
I have been doing a change every 6 months regardless of mileage. Manual recommends 6 months or 6000km. I am usually slightly over 6000 km.
We plan on keeping this car for at least another 5 years.

2016 Kia Sorento 2.0T, 44,000km on the odometer.
Still under warranty for another 3 years. Manual calls for 3 month/5000 km OCI. Dealership claimed if you went over the 3 months that is okay. They always have gone by 6 month/6000km according to their sticker. As it turns out I reach 5000km approximately every 3 months anyway. I have used the dealership mostly and conventional oil.

I switched to synthetic (I believe they used Quaker State) and a local independent garage (I supplied the filter) at the last oil change. I will try changing on my own next time.

My daily driver 11 km one way.
Hyundai/Kia OEM filter.
Soon to be Pennzoil Platinum 5W-30. No real attachment to any brand but Pennzoil goes on sale regularly and they offer the rebates every year. I am stocked up for the next 3 changes.

I plan on keeping this car for at least another 8 years. No mechanical issues at all yet.

Last edited:
I hear ya...

My routine.

Sonata - 3700/6months
Santa Fe 2.0T - 3000/6moths

stop and go traffic 75% of the time.

welcome2.gif
thankyou2.gif

First, welcome to the site, Recon9.
cheers3.gif

I am currently using PP or PUP in my wife's car (2017 3.6 Chev Impala) and also the same in my truck. (2013 Ram Hemi QC 4x4)