DEXOS synthetic vs Conventional oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 2012 Sierra 5.3 is past warranty. I've used DEXOS oil for every oil change. I now have 113000 km on the truck. I changed the oil when the dash reminder told me to on the driver information center. This has tun 14000 km on a couple instances, and that alarms me.

My new job gives me access to free mobil conventional oil. I've been using purolator filters for the past 2 years, wix prior to that.

Can I switch over to non synthetic and make my oil change interval 5000 km? It'd simplify things a lot for me.

In my original post I said the truck went 14000 km between oil changes. It was still showing 24% oil life at 14000 km, and I started having oil pressure issues. A fresh oil and filter change fixed it up and I haven't had any issues since. I put a sticker on my windshield to change it at 7500 km since that happened.

Last edited:
To meet GM’s dexos spec requires at least a synthetic blend and one supposes GM did this for a reason. And the oil life monitor is calibrated for at least a syn blend. Maybe there wouldn’t be short term damage from using a conventional oil but if you do so you may want to shorten the OCI a bit. Personally, I’d stick with the dexos spec.

I think most dealerships use conventional oil in many instances and many Silveradoes still are out there going strong. I wouldn't worry but I would not go over 6,000 kilometers with the oil

I was also thinking that. Plus, the 5w30 here is GF-5 and SN rated. Same as the dexos 5w30 I was using all along. I don't think it would be an issue.

Dexos spec ain't all that. You just want a good oil. The last oil I ran was Dexos spec full synthetic and it was NG. (Magnatec Full Syn 5w30) Funny, the Magnatec SS ran well.

Got QSUD non DEXOS 10w30 iN THERE last night AND IT IS ALL GOOD AGAIN.