My Suv had a heart attack, too much Bacon? Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Long time occasional lurker of BITOG, but still newb on this forum so please excuse my etiquette.

This will be unbelievable to many.. but watch the videos. I am trying to figure out what to do. I figured you guys and gals will go nuts over this.

So long story short My new oil has gelled up/thicken in my engine. I was able to drain the [censored] out with the engine warm. Waiting on Blackstone for results.

Oil is M1 EP 0w20 with 1,500 miles put in in Nov/2017. Hybrid SUV 08 Lexus RX400h has 126k miles. Oil changed every 5k for the past 4 years with M1 filter. Coolant is clean and pink (toyota long life)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xj5Kn8IyiC8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D3Q4FBKrNYY

See the other video I posted to my youtube account (sorry I am new to youtube too )

Last edited:
wow, commenting so I can keep an eye on this thread.
First thought, do you pour your own oil and was the bottle/jug untampered?
Second, I saw some of this on an oil change I did, low mile OCI, short trips, very cold weather, oil gelled up.
Could be similar here with the Hybrid not allowing full hot temp oil, means water and contaminants are never burnt off.

You said the M1 was "my new oil". And that has 1500 miles on it. What have you been using for the last 4 years? Why did you drain this oil so quickly?

I called M1 already (they said take it to a shop, tear the engine apart,and send them the report.) They sent me a form to fill out.

I travel 20 miles to work in stop and go traffic on the highway Tues-Thurs (Chicago traffic takes about 1-1.5 hrs to cover distance). Hybrid usually tries to keep the engine somewhat warm(kicks on when the engine temp is below a certain number). Jug was bought at walmart with nothing unusual with it. Chicago had several snow storms and then some Neg Temps in Jan. ( I did park my car outside). On Fri-Monday it get little use.